Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: C128 in an FPGA?  (Read 5898 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline trekiej

C128 in an FPGA?
« on: March 12, 2013, 03:13:20 PM »
Are there any FPGA computers that feature a C128?
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 03:19:55 PM »
Not that I've seen yet.  Hopefully someone, some day might make a C128 core for the Chameleon64.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline mohican

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 04:58:45 PM »
Quote from: Darrin;728912
Not that I've seen yet.  Hopefully someone, some day might make a C128 core for the Chameleon64.


... or for FPGAReplay ... ;)
 

Offline psxphill

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2013, 05:26:34 PM »
Quote from: Darrin;728912
Not that I've seen yet. Hopefully someone, some day might make a C128 core for the Chameleon64.

The dual video output makes it kinda hard. I'd prefer to see a C65 core for the Chameleon.
(not that I have one, they aren't compatible with the C128 so I got a 1541U2 instead).
 

Offline PJM

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2013, 06:00:07 PM »
The MIST board would be perfect for this. At least you can build that one yourself. It's based around the Cyclone III and is pretty new. Supports USB rather than PS/2 ports.

I'm currently in the process of building one to run the minimig core on.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2013, 06:05:03 PM »
Quote from: mohican;728918
... or for FPGAReplay ... ;)


I have a set of CBM "special character" stickers waiting to be applied to my keyboard should that happen.  :D
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2013, 06:06:20 PM »
Quote from: psxphill;728923
The dual video output makes it kinda hard. I'd prefer to see a C65 core for the Chameleon.
(not that I have one, they aren't compatible with the C128 so I got a 1541U2 instead).


Yeah, we're more likely to find a "Super 64" core more useful, with extra screen modes, expanded BASIC, more RAM, etc.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2013, 06:06:53 PM »
Quote from: PJM;728925
The MIST board would be perfect for this. At least you can build that one yourself. It's based around the Cyclone III and is pretty new. Supports USB rather than PS/2 ports.

I'm currently in the process of building one to run the minimig core on.


That should be interesting.  Keep us updated.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline mikej

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2013, 07:02:04 PM »
Quote from: PJM;728925
The MIST board would be perfect for this. At least you can build that one yourself. It's based around the Cyclone III and is pretty new. Supports USB rather than PS/2 ports.

I'm currently in the process of building one to run the minimig core on.


Replay supports USB as well now.
Not so many people wish to build their own, having built a few I don't either....
/MikeJ
 

Offline kamelito

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2013, 07:06:43 PM »
Quote from: Darrin;728927
Yeah, we're more likely to find a "Super 64" core more useful, with extra screen modes, expanded BASIC, more RAM, etc.

 Like the SuperVIC and MonsterSID? http://c64upgra.de/c-one/  Kamelito
 

Offline PJM

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2013, 07:28:45 PM »
Quote from: mikej;728933
Replay supports USB as well now.
Not so many people wish to build their own, having built a few I don't either....
/MikeJ


Nothing wrong with the FPGA Arcade, its a well designed feature packed board worth the asking price, if anything it will drive forward support for new minimig cores and more. I just enjoy building the boards so unless a kit is ever offered it won't be for me.

At the same time the board Till has designed in the form of the MIST is excellent and all the more amazing for the fact he designed and built the first board in just a few months :).
 

Offline mikej

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2013, 09:22:09 PM »
Quote from: PJM;728935
Nothing wrong with the FPGA Arcade, its a well designed feature packed board worth the asking price, if anything it will drive forward support for new minimig cores and more. I just enjoy building the boards so unless a kit is ever offered it won't be for me. .


I'm happy to send you a kit of parts if you fancy building one, I find the SMD machine a bit easier though ;)
 

Offline bbond007

Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2013, 09:48:54 PM »
Quote from: mikej;728949
I'm happy to send you a kit of parts if you fancy building one, I find the SMD machine a bit easier though ;)


I'll take a fully assembled board with USB :)

I could just imagine how pissed I'd be when I spend several hundred hours assembling it and it failed to work.

It would be worse than the time I typed in a several page of HEX code from RUN magazine and on completion it tuned out to be an April fools joke...
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2013, 10:00:04 PM »
Quote from: bbond007;728956
It would be worse than the time I typed in a several page of HEX code from RUN magazine and on completion it tuned out to be an April fools joke...


That's just WRONG!  Funny, but WRONG!  :D
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: C128 in an FPGA?
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2013, 10:00:35 PM »
Quote from: kamelito;728934
Like the SuperVIC and MonsterSID? http://c64upgra.de/c-one/  Kamelito


Yes.  Shame my C-One is dead at the moment.  :(
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.