Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: No extra smilies for Opera  (Read 1509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Speelgoedmannetje

No extra smilies for Opera
« on: January 28, 2004, 11:42:42 PM »
I am using Opera for a while now, but I can't use those smilies under the "more..." option. All I get is I>.
And the canary said: \'chirp\'
 

Offline x56h34

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2004, 11:51:08 PM »
Works fine here.

 :lol:
 

Offline cecilia

  • Amiga Snob
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 4875
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 1
    • http://cecilia.sawneybean.com/
Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2004, 12:42:08 AM »
yeah, i've had the same difficulty. (Opera user)

i don't find it a big problem
the no CARB diet- no Cheney, Ashcroft, Rumsfeld or Bush.
IFX CD Tutorial
 

Offline Speelgoedmannetje

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2004, 09:14:03 AM »
Well, no, but I thought, maybe if they could alter the icons set, maybe they could do something about this too.
And the canary said: \'chirp\'
 

Offline KennyR

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2004, 09:44:05 AM »
The more option does nothing if you've disabled popups.
 

Offline Kent

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2004, 09:57:15 AM »
I'll have to ditto that.  I'm using Opera 7.21 currently.

Here's where the problem is:

Quote
Line 134-141:


You'll notice the open comment isn't closed before the end of the script tag.  This is already fixed in Xoops2 setup btw.  I just double checked it to make sure this was the case.

:pint:
I love the modern age world of this middle age crises America... all these SUVs driving around like there\\\'s gas to spare and then some.

http://www.RequestFocus.com

W. Kent Seaton ~ RequestFocus.com
 

Offline Vincent

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2004, 01:06:56 PM »
I've been using Opera for ages now and the more link has never worked for me.

I made a post about it ages ago, but nobody really helped.

Oh, and I've tried it with pop-ups enabled/disabled/requested only, but there was no change.
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline Lo

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2004, 03:01:25 PM »
Quote
I've been using Opera for ages now and the more link has never worked for me.
Does that include saving image location & posting as image? or with some effort, DL the smilies and save to your own web location and use an FKey equivalent to insert:'[img'] http://yoursite/images/smilie002.gif'[/img'] without the accent marks  This probably didn't help, huh.. :-?
[color=0000CC]GVP 060 @50 Pwr Twr [/color][color=FF0000]AMD_Amithlon_UAE[/color]
 

Offline cecilia

  • Amiga Snob
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 4875
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 1
    • http://cecilia.sawneybean.com/
Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2004, 03:34:40 PM »
Quote

KennyR wrote:
The more option does nothing if you've disabled popups.
this has nothing to do with the pop-up being disabled.
normally I have popups abled. I only turn it off if i happen to find an obnoxious site.
the no CARB diet- no Cheney, Ashcroft, Rumsfeld or Bush.
IFX CD Tutorial
 

Offline Lo

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2004, 03:57:43 PM »
Quote
normally I have popups abled.
oooo mmmm yes!   :-P
[color=0000CC]GVP 060 @50 Pwr Twr [/color][color=FF0000]AMD_Amithlon_UAE[/color]
 

Offline Vincent

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2004, 04:52:56 PM »
Quote

Lo wrote:
Quote
I've been using Opera for ages now and the more link has never worked for me.
Does that include saving image location & posting as image? or with some effort, DL the smilies and save to your own web location and use an FKey equivalent to insert:'[img'] http://yoursite/images/smilie002.gif'[/img'] without the accent marks  This probably didn't help, huh.. :-?


If I use take the address from within the link (http://www.amiga.org/misc.php?action=showpopups&type=smilies&target=message) it still doesn't work in Opera, but it does in IE.

If I could be bothered I'd log into here using IE, save the "more" page and use that as a basis, but that's too much hassle for a lazy git like me :-P

If I've seen a post in the thread I'm about to reply to that has the smiley, then I'll "copy image address" and do it the img /img way.
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline Mike_Amiga

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2004, 12:40:08 AM »
I complained of this ages ago, only I was complaining it doesn't work on Mac IE, Safari, Camino, or any other browser on Mac OS 9 or 10.

I've just got used to using codes with :words: in colons instead. I keep a text file handy with all the words in it and descriptions of the graphics for when I need them.

:shocked: :hammer: :python: :ranting:
AKA ED-209 on IRC...
 

Offline that_punk_guy

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2004, 01:04:58 AM »
I type them in manually anyway... much quicker than moving to the mouse and back.
 

Offline Argo

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2004, 06:28:09 AM »
It works in Opera 7.50 beta. :)
 

Offline Vincent

Re: No extra smilies for Opera
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2004, 01:08:01 PM »
But I don't wanna upgrade - here's nowt wrong with 7.21 here :-P

Well, except that minor smiley niggle anyways ;-)
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel