Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Has anyone discovered anything in Maniac Manzion and Zak McKracken they want to share  (Read 2235 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lassie

Quote from: CritAnime;717705
Stuff to do with what can be shown in a game and what can't. I have a book somewhere with a history of Nintendo and about the early days but it was only the sort of early ish days of it all upto the mid 90's. it was also well known that Nintendo would lock developers into some pretty ridgid clauses in order to get an approved by nintendo sticker.


Yes that is right, they did do a lot of things, when one look at there history.

What is that with your Amiga 600??
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
I don't have it any more. I had been strugelling with it a while and in the end I decided to trade it in and get some cash for pimping out my 1200. Kind of miss it but I was strugelling with ECS for the things I wanted to do.
 
Nintendo where real hard arses back in the day. I have an article in which Rare were talking about how they where handed a development system and then told to code for it without any technical manuals.

Offline lassie

Quote from: CritAnime;717709
I don't have it any more. I had bee strugelling with it a while and in the end I decided to trade it in and get some cash for pimping out my 1200. Kind of miss it but I was strugelling with ECS for the things I wanted to do.

Okay i hope you got some good money for it, so you can give your 1200 an upgrade :)
But still i can understand you miss it. Do you need AGA for the things you want to do?
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Yeah. Some of the games I want to play perform better with AGA plus I want to play some of the Doom clones.

Offline lassie

Quote from: CritAnime;717713
Yeah. Some of the games I want to play perform better with AGA plus I want to play some of the Doom clones.


I must admit i play a lot of those Doom clones, and many are quite good. What will you put in your A 1200? an 030 CPU maybe
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Yeah thats what I am looking at.

Offline lassie

Quote from: CritAnime;717723
Yeah thats what I am looking at.


I have an Apollo 1230 35 Mhz and 34 MB RAM in mine and it runs many Doom clones quite well. I could not afford something bigger, but i am happy with it :)
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline kd7ota

Quote from: commodorejohn;717616
I liked the NES version, myself. Sweet soundtrack, and a bit nicer graphics. Though it does suck to not have a mouse.


You bet! Like the soundtrack especially... I play it using ScummVM. Much easier to use the mouse to click.

Proud to say that I am probably the only one that found out about a bug in the game that I never found anywhere else on the internet. I brought it up to the ScummVM team to let them know its not a bug in the programming, but just a bug in the actual game...

So if you are quick about navigating the game and rush into using the telescope to get the combination the safe above Edna's room, No numbers are there......

This is because if you dont actually go upstairs into Edna's room and actually TRY TO USE the safe, the NES won't generate it a random number..... ;)

So if you are ever wondering why the stupid number isnt being shown by the window when you use the telescope, now you know!

I think the same holds true for many of the Maniac Mansion versions.  If you don't use the safe, it wont generate the number. :)
-=-=-=-=-=-
Mine!  :-D
 

Offline commodorejohn

Oh, I didn't know ScummVM ran the NES version. I'll have to give that a try :)
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini, Ensoniq Mirage/SQ-80, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600, Hohner String Performer

"\'Legacy code\' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
ScummVM can run the sound modes for all the major computer platforms. On an intersting side note the version of Maniac Mansion that comes with day of tenticle can't be played from within Day of the Tenticle on scummvm. you have to load it as a sperate game in order to play it. ScummVM simply says you can't play it from inside Day of the Tenticle.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2012, 03:09:59 AM by CritAnime »
 

Offline Minuous

@commodorejohn:

The NES version is unfortunately crap, see http://www.crockford.com/wrrrld/maniac.html for a list of some of the "improvements".
 

Offline commodorejohn

Quote from: Minuous;717743
The NES version is unfortunately crap, see http://www.crockford.com/wrrrld/maniac.html for a list of some of the "improvements".
Yeah, that's Nintendo for you. Censorship aside, though, I totally dig the soundtrack (you just can't go wrong with "Fat Man" Sanger) and the sort of Archie Comics-stylized versions of the character sprites.

Actually, I'm going to give a try to running the uncensored prototype NES version that showed up on the 'net in 2005...

This is the perfect excuse to set up ScummVM on my 1200...
« Last Edit: December 06, 2012, 03:35:58 AM by commodorejohn »
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini, Ensoniq Mirage/SQ-80, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600, Hohner String Performer

"\'Legacy code\' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
 

Offline NovaCoder

Quote from: commodorejohn;717745
Actually, I'm going to give a try to running the uncensored prototype NES version that showed up on the 'net in 2005...

This is the perfect excuse to set up ScummVM on my 1200...


Let me know if you get it to run, I've never tried to run a NES game with it.
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!
 

Offline commodorejohn

Quote from: commodorejohn;717745
Actually, I'm going to give a try to running the uncensored prototype NES version that showed up on the 'net in 2005...
Well, poop, the extraction tool doesn't support the prototype ROM. I'll have to drop 'em a line about this...
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini, Ensoniq Mirage/SQ-80, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600, Hohner String Performer

"\'Legacy code\' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
 

Offline XDelusion

Quote from: commodorejohn;717749
Well, poop, the extraction tool doesn't support the prototype ROM. I'll have to drop 'em a line about this...


Please do, I'd love to see the prototype supported as well, if not for historical reasons.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs