Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Adoom recommended specs  (Read 1258 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Adoom recommended specs
« on: October 24, 2012, 09:04:17 AM »
So what does everyone recommend?

My plan is the following, A500 Plus / 68030 40Mhz / 2MB Chip / 8MB Fast / 4MB (Hopefully 8MB) RAM on the accelerator / Kick 3.1 / Workbench 3.1 / 2GB CF Card / Indivision ECS.

Should be playable?

Have most of it, waiting for the 68030 CPU to turn up and the accelerator and indi to be fixed. Not sure whats wrong with the extra 4MB but will have to wait for it to arrive back to test.

But my end goal would be at least Doom, maybe DOTT/Full Throttle... Might be pushing it to run Quake LOL But always fun to see what one can achieve with a humble A500 :-)
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2012, 09:07:06 AM »
80386 class CPU, 4 MB RAM are the PC specs, doesn't mention Mhz. Will be interesting have watched a few youtube videos about the A600.
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline utri007

Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2012, 09:07:27 AM »
Should be playable with indivision ECS. You need to use Picasso driver OR ehb mode.

Quake is out of range, it woun't be even nealy playable, just slideshow. Quake also requires FPU
ACube Sam 440ep Flex 800mhz, 1gb ram and 240gb hd and OS4.1FE
A1200 Micronic tower, OS3.9, Apollo 060 66mhz, xPert Merlin, Delfina Lite and Micronic Scandy, 500Gb hd, 66mb ram, DVD-burner and WLAN.
A1200 desktop, OS3.9, Blizzard 060 66mhz, 66mb ram, Ide Fix Express with 160Gb HD and WLAN
A500 OS2.1, GVP+HD8 with 4mb ram, 1mb chip ram and 4gb HD
Commodore CDTV KS3.1, 1mb chip, 4mb fast ram and IDE HD
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2012, 09:10:54 AM »
Quote from: utri007;712430
Should be playable with indivision ECS. You need to use Picasso driver OR ehb mode.

Quake is out of range, it woun't be even nealy playable, just slideshow. Quake also requires FPU


Thanks utri007. Thought so about Quake, but would be amazing to see Adoom running. Will hopefully wont have much longer to wait and I can put it to the test, post some videos hopefully.

Not nearly enough on Youtube.
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2012, 09:12:26 AM »
To think I switched to a 486sx25 (no math co boohoo) with a Sound blaster 16 back in the day to play Doom :-) Cost me a small fortune LOL
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Thorham

Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2012, 09:24:39 AM »
Also try DoomAttack, it's a bit faster than ADoom. See Aminet, and check out EAB as well.
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2012, 09:35:41 AM »
Does Doom attack use the Indi modes?
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline NovaCoder

Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2012, 10:51:38 AM »
No but to be honest the Indivisions chunky mode is a bit slow, I think ECS's HB mode will be faster
You will of course be able to play DOTT with Scumvm ECS :)
Full throttle is out of the question though, it originally needed a 486 dx66
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 11:51:23 AM by NovaCoder »
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!
 

Offline runequester

  • It\'s Amiga time!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 3695
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2012, 03:26:32 PM »
It should be playable if you reduce the screen size a bit. As mentioned, DoomAttack is a tad faster.
 

Offline desiv

Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2012, 05:03:35 PM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;712443
No but to be honest the Indivisions chunky mode is a bit slow, I think ECS's HB mode will be faster

HB?  
Is that something special the Indivision does or are we just talking Extra Half Bright?

Shouldn't Graffiti mode be faster?
(Not sure, haven't tried, but that's what I thought it was designed for..)

In the readme for ADoom, it mentions Indivision GFX mode, which I'm thinking would be Graffiti???

desiv
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2012, 06:56:06 PM »
Good advice, well  hopefully in the next couple of weeks will be able to post some video's :-)

Had a thought that full throttle would be a problem, just fun trying these things out. Amazing what a Amiga can do.
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline NovaCoder

Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2012, 09:57:51 PM »
Quote from: desiv;712466
HB?  
Is that something special the Indivision does or are we just talking Extra Half Bright?

Shouldn't Graffiti mode be faster?
(Not sure, haven't tried, but that's what I thought it was designed for..)

In the readme for ADoom, it mentions Indivision GFX mode, which I'm thinking would be Graffiti???

desiv

No it's not Graffiti, it's another chunky mode (also used for the ECS RTG driver)
Like I said it is a bit slow, ECS Graffiti is even slower
AGA Graffiti is the fast one :)
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!
 

Offline desiv

Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2012, 11:11:35 PM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;712496
No it's not Graffiti, it's another chunky mode (also used for the ECS RTG driver)
Like I said it is a bit slow, ECS Graffiti is even slower
AGA Graffiti is the fast one :)
Interesting..
So, that does bring up a side question..
Was the whole "we don't have chunky so we can't compete" just overdone??
It sounds like chunky isn't all that big a deal after all...

desiv
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
 

Offline runequester

  • It\'s Amiga time!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 3695
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #13 on: October 24, 2012, 11:14:09 PM »
Quote from: desiv;712506
Interesting..
So, that does bring up a side question..
Was the whole "we don't have chunky so we can't compete" just overdone??
It sounds like chunky isn't all that big a deal after all...

desiv


I've held the opinion for a while that processor power was far more relevant. The amiga world was embracing 030's when the PC's were buying 486's. Yeah, the 486 was way more expensive but in the end, it ran Doom faster.

Poke around youtube for videos of Doom on a 386, and it's not exactly a pretty sight. The ole miggy on an 030 holds up pretty decently.
 

Offline NovaCoder

Re: Adoom recommended specs
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2012, 12:00:09 AM »
Quote from: desiv;712506
Interesting..
So, that does bring up a side question..
Was the whole "we don't have chunky so we can't compete" just overdone??
It sounds like chunky isn't all that big a deal after all...

desiv


I guess you could say that you need more than chunky graphics to do fast 256 color 320x200 displays with the ECS chipset.  

If AGA had been introduced with chunky graphics then I'm sure we'd have seen decent DOOM ports a lot quicker than we did.

I don't expect Graffiti to add much speed to my 320x200 AGA ports (which currently use C2P) but I hope that Jens will include a chunky 640x480 mode to the Indy AGA Mrk2 which will finally allow me to bring games like Broken Sword to AGA :)
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!