Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Raspberry PI  (Read 7767 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JimS

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #45 on: May 29, 2012, 05:56:04 PM »
Quote from: nyteschayde;694611
That or using the PI like a bridge board or how about as a video card? All these things have crossed my mind. I'm a software dev and love to sit down with a good hardware dev for a day or two to know more about things like PICs and working with and wiring up a GPIO.


I've been thinking of using a microcontroller board as some kind of super I/O board for a classic Amiga. There are a lot of chips out there that do cool stuff like mp3 decoding, radio reciever, networking and usb hosting. Seems like a microcontroller could host these - via SPI. and communicate with the Amiga via a parallel interface.
One thing to consider, I'm almost sure the PI uses 3.3v logic. You'd need some level shifting to connect to the Amiga.
Obsolescence is futile. You will be emulated. - Amigus of Borg
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 638
  • Total likes: 2
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #46 on: May 29, 2012, 06:47:12 PM »
Before I ordered the PI, I was all about trying to figure out a way to arduino-up my Amiga. I'd still be interested. It's so frustrating for me because I understand just enough to not be able to know the right direction about how to best use the hardware.

Also, Amigas are not a dime a dozen so the thought of damaging one in testing also frightens me. So, I understand that most modern electronics use 3.3 volts and older stuff like the Amiga uses 5 volts. How do you do "level shifting"?

Also I asked earlier about the fastest interface area. I know the mediator, for example, has a pass-thru for the cpu 150 pin slot adapter for the A1200. Perhaps something like that would provide the best solution, but how do you make subsequent attachments work?

I've also read that you may need a PIC or something (again, what is a PIC) to create/call/provide (?!) interrupts at the 14MHz cycle in order to make the rest of the hardware happy if you wish to provide some sort of accelerator.

Do you need to connect to all 150 pins? What is the minimum needed if your microcontroller/microcomputer has only in the range of 25-35 GPIO pins?

I would love to get into an IRC chatroom with anybody capable and patient enough to explain this stuff to me; or better yet, in person in you're in San Jose, CA.

Quote from: JimS;694614
I've been thinking of using a microcontroller board as some kind of super I/O board for a classic Amiga. There are a lot of chips out there that do cool stuff like mp3 decoding, radio reciever, networking and usb hosting. Seems like a microcontroller could host these - via SPI. and communicate with the Amiga via a parallel interface.
One thing to consider, I'm almost sure the PI uses 3.3v logic. You'd need some level shifting to connect to the Amiga.
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline Ni72ous

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #47 on: May 29, 2012, 07:28:56 PM »
Got my email from rs today but am a bit reluctant to order after seeing the via board and a few of the other arm boards.
Ni72ous
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 638
  • Total likes: 2
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #48 on: May 29, 2012, 07:33:59 PM »
If you get one of the other boards, let us know how it goes!

Quote from: Nitrous;694627
Got my email from rs today but am a bit reluctant to order after seeing the via board and a few of the other arm boards.
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline JimS

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #49 on: May 29, 2012, 07:54:41 PM »
Quote from: nyteschayde;694620
Before I ordered the PI, I was all about trying to figure out a way to arduino-up my Amiga. I'd still be interested. It's so frustrating for me because I understand just enough to not be able to know the right direction about how to best use the hardware.


I was thinking about the arduino as well as some other boards maybe ARM or Propellor based.

Quote
Also, Amigas are not a dime a dozen so the thought of damaging one in testing also frightens me. So, I understand that most modern electronics use 3.3 volts and older stuff like the Amiga uses 5 volts. How do you do "level shifting"?


There are lots of ways, from resistors & diodes to custom chips made just for level shifting. Peruse the adafruit or sparkfun web sites for some ideas...

Quote
Also I asked earlier about the fastest interface area. I know the mediator, for example, has a pass-thru for the cpu 150 pin slot adapter for the A1200. Perhaps something like that would provide the best solution, but how do you make subsequent attachments work?

I don't know about speed. What I had in mind was making a card for the Zorro bus (but too lazy to do autoconfig) that implemented a 16 bit parallel port. Just a matter of decoding the Amiga's address bus to pick some spare address. Add a couple of handshaking lines and you need less than 20 lines. Because I was thinking of multiple devices on the other end of the microcontroller, the Amiga would send over a control word first with a device address. The micro would then route the data as needed. At least that's kinda what I was thinking.
Quote
I've also read that you may need a PIC or something (again, what is a PIC) to create/call/provide (?!) interrupts at the 14MHz cycle in order to make the rest of the hardware happy if you wish to provide some sort of accelerator.

A PIC is just another type of microcontroller chip

Quote
Do you need to connect to all 150 pins? What is the minimum needed if your microcontroller/microcomputer has only in the range of 25-35 GPIO pins?


Like I said, for what I had in mind, I'd only need about 20 pins. But if you want an accellerator, GPIO is irrelevant. What you need are the CPU's address and memory busses. Those aren't necessarily available outside the chip.  
Quote
I would love to get into an IRC chatroom with anybody capable and patient enough to explain this stuff to me; or better yet, in person in you're in San Jose, CA.

You can try the Sunday nite Asha chat on irc.superhosts.net  #team*amiga  
We meet Sundays at 9pm EST. Sometimes some hardware knowlegeable folk show up.
Obsolescence is futile. You will be emulated. - Amigus of Borg
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 638
  • Total likes: 2
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #50 on: May 29, 2012, 11:22:29 PM »
Quote from: JimS;694630
I don't know about speed. What I had in mind was making a card for the Zorro bus (but too lazy to do autoconfig) that implemented a 16 bit parallel port.


What is wrong with the physical parallel port on the backside of the Amiga's? Are they too slow? Were you planning on something else so that it could be handled from the inside of the machine?
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline JimS

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #51 on: May 30, 2012, 12:44:45 AM »
Quote from: nyteschayde;694648
What is wrong with the physical parallel port on the backside of the Amiga's? Are they too slow? Were you planning on something else so that it could be handled from the inside of the machine?


Nothing wrong with the built in port... except that it's only 8 bits wide.... and I'd prefer to leave it for the printer. BTW. "planning" is too strong a word. ;-) It's just some ideas I've been mulling around.
Obsolescence is futile. You will be emulated. - Amigus of Borg
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 638
  • Total likes: 2
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #52 on: May 30, 2012, 01:44:52 AM »
Quote from: JimS;694652
Nothing wrong with the built in port... except that it's only 8 bits wide.... and I'd prefer to leave it for the printer. BTW. "planning" is too strong a word. ;-) It's just some ideas I've been mulling around.


Interesting, so would you say that each GPIO pin is roughly a bit given it's states are likely high or low. Therefore if you had 8 pins you could spit out roughly a byte at a time? Is that how this works. Give some signal to read, the software reads the state of pins 0-7 and assigns their values to bits 0-7 respectively and then either waits for the next read now signal or otherwise signals the device that it's ready for the next byte's worth of bit/GPIO pin values?

Is this roughly how data transfer between them would take place? Or could you do something like set the voltage on the GPIO pin to be a value between 0.0v and 0.256v and read the voltage as a byte value? Not sure how precise voltage can be set and read.

What are the maximum throughput values if it's used like this? Sorry if this is way OT, but I'm just pondering in "out loud" in these POSTs now.
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline JimS

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #53 on: May 30, 2012, 02:19:12 PM »
Quote from: nyteschayde;694657
Interesting, so would you say that each GPIO pin is roughly a bit given it's states are likely high or low. Therefore if you had 8 pins you could spit out roughly a byte at a time? Is that how this works. Give some signal to read, the software reads the state of pins 0-7 and assigns their values to bits 0-7 respectively and then either waits for the next read now signal or otherwise signals the device that it's ready for the next byte's worth of bit/GPIO pin values?

Is this roughly how data transfer between them would take place?

That's exactly how it would work.

Quote
Or could you do something like set the voltage on the GPIO pin to be a value between 0.0v and 0.256v and read the voltage as a byte value? Not sure how precise voltage can be set and read.

No, I don't think that would work... too inaccurate.

Quote
What are the maximum throughput values if it's used like this? Sorry if this is way OT, but I'm just pondering in "out loud" in these POSTs now.


Maximum thruput would most likely be limited by the clock speed of the CPUs on either side of the link. Probably the Amiga side would be the limiting factor.
Obsolescence is futile. You will be emulated. - Amigus of Borg
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #54 on: May 30, 2012, 02:20:44 PM »
Just got my order code. Placed my order and waiting for the confirmation. :)

Offline clusteruk

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #55 on: May 30, 2012, 07:23:00 PM »
Hi all

Mine is on its way as off today, please join my facebook group fo Aros
on RPi.

http://www.facebook.com/groups/imica/

videos soon and Aros Broadway from Pascal works :-)
« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 07:28:53 PM by clusteruk »
Amiga 1000/3000, iMica Silent and NVidia Aros computer.
http://www.imica.net
Lets enjoy the Amigas future, THIS year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
 

Offline Firedawg

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2007
  • Posts: 368
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #56 on: June 19, 2012, 06:59:02 PM »
It seems that my RPi ordered from both RS & Newark have been shipped.  I plan to shrink some of my old hardware systems in the shop to the size of a pi.  Should be fun working with something that small.  Took a small bit of change from my FPGA Replay Board savings, my wife does not know where this is by the way, and secured a order for the APC which will be available the first of July.  I will be very busy in the man-cave implementing a lot of cool stuff.

The Dawg
Amiga 4000T/60 - A2000/60 - 1200T/60, Soldered Up 3 x Minimig 1.1, Mac Mini 1.5 Running MacOSX/MOS 2.7-Registered
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #57 on: July 04, 2012, 06:58:48 PM »
I just compiled AmiWM for my Raspberry Pi, and it's awesome :)