Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Raspberry PI  (Read 7700 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #30 on: May 21, 2012, 07:38:45 PM »
Hey JJ, your Pi has the 26pin GPIO header... Do you plan to use it?

Offline jj

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4035
  • Country: wales
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #31 on: May 21, 2012, 09:44:55 PM »
Quote from: bloodline;693833
Hey JJ, your Pi has the 26pin GPIO header... Do you plan to use it?


had no plans to, to be honest.   Not my field of interest.  Are they not all going to have them then ?
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.10 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #32 on: May 21, 2012, 10:47:54 PM »
Quote from: JJ;693844
had no plans to, to be honest.   Not my field of interest.  Are they not all going to have them then ?
When the boards were going to be self produced, only the first 10,000 would have the GPIO headers... Now RS and farnell are manufacturing I don't know... I'm hoping my Pi will have the header as I want to play with it :)

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 636
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #33 on: May 29, 2012, 06:49:44 AM »
What would be the fastest I/O for data between an Amiga and the PI? It seems like it's still the unanswered question I come to when I consider any microcontroller or mini-computer such as the PI.

I'd like to leverage the power of the PI in conjunction with an old Amiga somehow? Anybody have any ideas?

Would it be like a PCMCIA<->GPIO adapter or perhaps a trapdoor edge connector <-> GPIO? I've also considered the clock port but I haven't been impressed with what I've seen with the Subway USB speeds.

Let's brain storm!

Quote from: bloodline;693847
When the boards were going to be self produced, only the first 10,000 would have the GPIO headers... Now RS and farnell are manufacturing I don't know... I'm hoping my Pi will have the header as I want to play with it :)
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline TheDaddy

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #34 on: May 29, 2012, 07:03:08 AM »
mmmh...my raspberry arrived, installed the Linux image from website and the USB mouse is not recognised...argh! :(
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 636
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #35 on: May 29, 2012, 07:09:59 AM »
Make sure you have enough power. Seems that is the most common issue I've heard with the PI. Mine still hasn't arrived so I can't say from experience though.

Quote from: TheDaddy;694532
mmmh...my raspberry arrived, installed the Linux image from website and the USB mouse is not recognised...argh! :(
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline TheDaddy

 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 636
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #37 on: May 29, 2012, 07:27:02 AM »
You could try running the mouse through a powered hub and see if that is the issue after all.

Quote from: TheDaddy;694536
Got myself one of these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Micro-USB-Power-Supply-For-Raspberry-Pi-Computer?item=330730087675&cmd=ViewItem&_trksid=p5197.m7&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D5%26po%3DLVI%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D8751643704345737842#ht_1221wt_1397

And the USB mouse does not work. Tried another one and still the same. Bah!
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline TheDaddy

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #38 on: May 29, 2012, 07:42:40 AM »
Quote from: nyteschayde;694538
You could try running the mouse through a powered hub and see if that is the issue after all.


If it works via the powered USB then it means that the psu is pants?
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 636
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #39 on: May 29, 2012, 07:44:07 AM »
Not necessarily but I've heard everything from the leads, the contacts, the sometimes even the day of the week (jk) dropping a tenth of a volt and causing things to not function.

Quote from: TheDaddy;694542
If it works via the powered USB then it means that the psu is pants?
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline TheDaddy

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #40 on: May 29, 2012, 07:51:44 AM »
:)

I AM really impressed...worth the money! :D
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 636
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #41 on: May 29, 2012, 07:55:34 AM »
I take it the powered hub worked?

Quote from: TheDaddy;694544
:)

I AM really impressed...worth the money! :D
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline TheDaddy

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #42 on: May 29, 2012, 07:56:44 AM »
Nope I haven't got one I'll have to do that at work...I'll let you know, thanks for the suggestions. :)
 

Offline brownb2

Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #43 on: May 29, 2012, 01:46:26 PM »
Slightly O/T.

Can the PI be rigged as an accelerator?

What's to stop somebody wiring up the accelerator port in an A1200 to the Pi via USB  (or faster bus - obviously may need some sort of breadboard inbetween) and passing the instructions to an ARM 68000 series emulator such as http://notaz.gp2x.de/cyclone.php (this emulator is 68000 only)?

Obviously FPGAs are better for the purpose but technically I can't see too much trouble apart from:

  • Conversion between the trapdoor connector to USB serial will likely need custom PIC work.
  • Custom software glue to pass the USB instructions ARM side to the relevant emulator API and return results.
  • Emulator may need modification for access to the Amiga chipset and chip ram, as opposed to ARM ram,  via USB :(
It may be a tad slow... and now I've written this post probably complicated.
A600 (3.48/4.46 MIPS) - 2MB Chip, 4MB PCMCIA, 11MB Fast, ACA-620 OC 680EC20@16.67/25MHz, RTC, 512MB CF HD, WB 2.1
A1200 (7.36 MIPS) - 2MB Chip 8MB Fast, MTEC Viper 68030@42MHz MMU, 68882 FPU, RTC, 1GB CF HD, T.Turbo 2, 2 Ext. Floppies, WB 3.0.
Atari 520 STFM - 1MB, Multiface ST.
Commodore 16 - 64K Mod, SD2IEC Drive
Commodore 64C - 64K, SD2IEC Drive
ZX Spectrum 48K Rubber Key - 48K, Composite Mod
ZX Spectrum +2B - 128KB
ZX Spectrum +3 - 128KB, DivIDE+ 64MB CF HD, Multiface 3.
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 636
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Raspberry PI
« Reply #44 on: May 29, 2012, 05:21:35 PM »
That or using the PI like a bridge board or how about as a video card? All these things have crossed my mind. I'm a software dev and love to sit down with a good hardware dev for a day or two to know more about things like PICs and working with and wiring up a GPIO.

Quote from: brownb2;694581
Slightly O/T.

Can the PI be rigged as an accelerator?

What's to stop somebody wiring up the accelerator port in an A1200 to the Pi via USB  (or faster bus - obviously may need some sort of breadboard inbetween) and passing the instructions to an ARM 68000 series emulator such as http://notaz.gp2x.de/cyclone.php (this emulator is 68000 only)?

Obviously FPGAs are better for the purpose but technically I can't see too much trouble apart from:

  • Conversion between the trapdoor connector to USB serial will likely need custom PIC work.
  • Custom software glue to pass the USB instructions ARM side to the relevant emulator API and return results.
  • Emulator may need modification for access to the Amiga chipset and chip ram, as opposed to ARM ram,  via USB :(

 It may be a tad slow... and now I've written this post probably complicated.
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500