Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Aros on laptops  (Read 2890 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Borut

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2011, 07:54:41 PM »
Somebody tried that on an IBM T42?
 

Offline HenryCase

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #16 on: December 27, 2011, 10:42:36 PM »
Quote from: Borut;673135
Somebody tried that on an IBM T42?

Yes. See here:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_Complete_System_HCL#IBM.2FLenovo

As you can see, support for the T42 isn't perfect, but it's not bad. Probably the main thing to do if you wanted to use AROS on the T42 right now would be get a supported wireless device (an internal card or a USB wireless dongle). You can read more about USB wireless dongle support here:
http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?start=0&topic_id=6299&viewmode=flat&order=ASC&type=&mode=0
"OS5 is so fast that only Chuck Norris can use it." AeroMan
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #17 on: December 27, 2011, 11:31:31 PM »
Quote from: Borut;673135
Somebody tried that on an IBM T42?



Funny....I have one and am planning on trying it.
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline kickstart

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2011, 12:59:39 AM »
Maybe im so stupid but cant install aron on a usb stick, theres some incompatible usb sticks but i dont know.
a1200 060
 

Offline Dazxy2001

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2011, 01:25:23 PM »
I switched from AspireOS to Icaros 1.3.3 with the latest update and have set up Amibridge, I have to say I love the integration and even the matching mouse pointers makes it seem even more transparent to the user, the only thing missing now is Flash to make a complete user experience.
Rediscovered that Amiga companionship :)
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 40mhz, 16MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 28mhz, 8MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1A, 2MB
A1200 Rev 2B, 2MB
A1200 Rev 1D1, 2MB
A500 Rev 6A 512K +A501 512K
A500+ Rev 8 2MB & Supraram 2MB sidecart
Lombard G3 Powerbook 333Mhz, 384MB, 12GB HD, FreeBSD 8.2-Release
Acer Aspire One 1.5GB Ram 8GB SSD, Aros
 

Offline gaula92

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2011, 01:49:34 PM »
what about Macbooks? Has anybody tried?
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #21 on: December 28, 2011, 02:06:32 PM »
I run AROS natively on several MacBooks :)

Offline gaula92

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #22 on: December 28, 2011, 02:11:46 PM »
@Bloodline: very interesting. OSX stinks. Does it boot from GRUB2 in EFI mode yet? Or do you have to rely on legacy BIOS emulation layer?

Does the touchpad work smoothly or does it have the same skippy tact found in current Linux drivers?

Does HDA-Audio sound and 3D graphics work for Intel (X3100, 2008 models) work well?

thanks
 

Offline Borut

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #23 on: December 28, 2011, 02:17:19 PM »
Quote from: HenryCase;673172
Yes. See here:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_Complete_System_HCL#IBM.2FLenovo

As you can see, support for the T42 isn't perfect, but it's not bad. Probably the main thing to do if you wanted to use AROS on the T42 right now would be get a supported wireless device (an internal card or a USB wireless dongle). You can read more about USB wireless dongle support here:
http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?start=0&topic_id=6299&viewmode=flat&order=ASC&type=&mode=0


THX i have read that but wanted some info from one who actually tried it. How is the speed and how about surfing the web and watching flash, divx and the like movies?
 

Offline HenryCase

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #24 on: December 28, 2011, 02:29:12 PM »
Quote from: kickstart;673184
Maybe im so stupid but cant install aron on a usb stick, theres some incompatible usb sticks but i dont know.


If you wish to install AROS to a USB flash drive, I'd advise using a virtual machine like VirtualBox or VMware to set this up. First, you need to format the USB drive with FAT32 and make sure the 'bootable' flag is set. If you're using Windows, using this tool will make all this straightforward (please note this software will work with all USB flash drives):
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Hard-Disk-Utils/HP-USB-Disk-Storage-Format-Tool.shtml

Next, get a virtual machine solution. If you're unsure which one to go for, start with VirtualBox. https://www.virtualbox.org/

You will need to play around with mounting the external USB drive as a drive that VirtualBox can use. Here are a couple of guides that tell you what you need to know (Disclaimer: I wrote the first guide):
http://forums.trinityhome.org/viewtopic.php?t=1586
http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=6216

In VirtualBox, mount the AROS ISO image. You should then be able to start AROS inside the virtual machine. You can then use the AROS installer to install to the USB drive.

Hope this helps. Please let me/us know if you get stuck.

Quote from: Dazxy2001;673241
I switched from AspireOS to Icaros 1.3.3 with the latest update and have set up Amibridge, I have to say I love the integration and even the matching mouse pointers makes it seem even more transparent to the user, the only thing missing now is Flash to make a complete user experience.


Flash would be nice, but there's plenty of other work to do before this is likely to happen.

However, one thing to bear in mind is that the first Zune Fix bounty is likely to be taken soon (a well respected AROS developer has shown an interest). Fixing Zune will make Odyssey Web Browser (a.k.a. MOS-OWB) easier to port, and Odyssey has workarounds for lack of Flash (e.g. it can play videos from YouTube).

Quote from: gaula92;673247
what about Macbooks? Has anybody tried?


People have got AROS running on x86 Macs. Your best bet is to burn an AROS live CD, and try it out first, before deciding if you want to install it. You've got a few different options when it comes to AROS distros, probably worth trying out Icaros first:
http://www.icarosdesktop.org/
If you have trouble installing it, best to ask on the AROS-Exec forums for help.
"OS5 is so fast that only Chuck Norris can use it." AeroMan
 

Offline HenryCase

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #25 on: December 28, 2011, 02:36:53 PM »
Quote from: Borut;673255
THX i have read that but wanted some info from one who actually tried it. How is the speed and how about surfing the web and watching flash, divx and the like movies?


Watching movies is going to be fine, as long as you avoid CPU-intensive HD content, as MPlayer supports virtually any format you throw at it.

Flash isn't supported (not yet, at least). Surfing the web is fine.

As for speed, try out a live CD. I imagine you'll be happy enough with the speed. Now consider, it'll be even faster installed on a hard drive! That should tell you all you need to know. ;-)
"OS5 is so fast that only Chuck Norris can use it." AeroMan
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #26 on: December 28, 2011, 02:53:05 PM »
Fixing to install this on a T42..
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #27 on: December 28, 2011, 03:06:26 PM »
WOW... doing a USB CDROM install of Icaros.. MAN!!! This looks FREAKIN SHARP!!! How responsive!   I'm excited!!!
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline HenryCase

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #28 on: December 28, 2011, 03:25:54 PM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;673266
WOW... doing a USB CDROM install of Icaros.. MAN!!! This looks FREAKIN SHARP!!! How responsive!   I'm excited!!!


Glad to hear you're liking what you see TheMagicM. :-)

Would like to advise you purchase a supported wireless dongle, if you want an even better experience. These are known to work and cost less than $15 USD:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/?_kw=usb%20rtl8187b&_clu=2&_fcid=154&_localstpos=&_stpos=&gbr=1
"OS5 is so fast that only Chuck Norris can use it." AeroMan
 

Offline Terminills

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #29 on: December 28, 2011, 03:46:15 PM »
Quote from: HenryCase;673270
Glad to hear you're liking what you see TheMagicM. :-)

Would like to advise you purchase a supported wireless dongle, if you want an even better experience. These are known to work and cost less than $15 USD:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/?_kw=usb%20rtl8187b&_clu=2&_fcid=154&_localstpos=&_stpos=&gbr=1


Before he buys a new wireless card he might want to test the atheros driver since the T42 came with 6 different wireless cards.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/IBM_ThinkPad_T42
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed