Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Aros on laptops  (Read 3021 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dazxy2001

Aros on laptops
« on: December 21, 2011, 11:22:49 PM »
Im aware of AspireOS, but I was curious to know if anyone has had success using Aros on something a little bigger ?
Rediscovered that Amiga companionship :)
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 40mhz, 16MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 28mhz, 8MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1A, 2MB
A1200 Rev 2B, 2MB
A1200 Rev 1D1, 2MB
A500 Rev 6A 512K +A501 512K
A500+ Rev 8 2MB & Supraram 2MB sidecart
Lombard G3 Powerbook 333Mhz, 384MB, 12GB HD, FreeBSD 8.2-Release
Acer Aspire One 1.5GB Ram 8GB SSD, Aros
 

Offline EDanaII

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 11:28:41 PM »
I run it on my Lenovo SL510 without too many issues...
Ed.
 

Offline EDanaII

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2011, 11:31:56 PM »
Ed.
 

Offline Dazxy2001

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2011, 11:37:04 PM »
awesome, many thanx for the list, wishing to move away from windows but I have no desire to go down the *nix route and Aros is getting to the stage where I can think about migrating over. Hoping to pick up an Aspire tomorrow but might be a little hard on the eyes :)
Rediscovered that Amiga companionship :)
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 40mhz, 16MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 28mhz, 8MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1A, 2MB
A1200 Rev 2B, 2MB
A1200 Rev 1D1, 2MB
A500 Rev 6A 512K +A501 512K
A500+ Rev 8 2MB & Supraram 2MB sidecart
Lombard G3 Powerbook 333Mhz, 384MB, 12GB HD, FreeBSD 8.2-Release
Acer Aspire One 1.5GB Ram 8GB SSD, Aros
 

Offline EDanaII

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2011, 11:50:41 PM »
Glad to help... :)
Ed.
 

Offline spihunter

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2011, 12:07:28 AM »
Cool, I didn't realize that the Dell D410 I have sitting here is almost fully supported!. Might have to give it a go.....


Quote from: EDanaII;672301
Oh, and have a look here.
 

Offline Dazxy2001

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2011, 01:25:23 PM »
Typing this on my Aros powered Aspire... well happy :D
Rediscovered that Amiga companionship :)
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 40mhz, 16MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 28mhz, 8MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1A, 2MB
A1200 Rev 2B, 2MB
A1200 Rev 1D1, 2MB
A500 Rev 6A 512K +A501 512K
A500+ Rev 8 2MB & Supraram 2MB sidecart
Lombard G3 Powerbook 333Mhz, 384MB, 12GB HD, FreeBSD 8.2-Release
Acer Aspire One 1.5GB Ram 8GB SSD, Aros
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2011, 01:32:24 PM »
Quote from: Dazxy2001;672374
Typing this on my Aros powered Aspire... well happy :D
Welcome to the future ;)

Offline Dazxy2001

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2011, 09:03:01 PM »
Quote from: bloodline;672376
Welcome to the future ;)


Thanks :)
I tried Icaros but found that alot of the apps wouldnt fit correctly on screen for some reason, usually the windows were too tall for the screen and couldnt figure how to fix it, so have gone back to AspireOS instead
Rediscovered that Amiga companionship :)
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 40mhz, 16MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 28mhz, 8MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1A, 2MB
A1200 Rev 2B, 2MB
A1200 Rev 1D1, 2MB
A500 Rev 6A 512K +A501 512K
A500+ Rev 8 2MB & Supraram 2MB sidecart
Lombard G3 Powerbook 333Mhz, 384MB, 12GB HD, FreeBSD 8.2-Release
Acer Aspire One 1.5GB Ram 8GB SSD, Aros
 

Offline HenryCase

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2011, 09:07:44 AM »
Quote from: Dazxy2001;672374
Typing this on my Aros powered Aspire... well happy :D


Congratulations! Glad you're happy with your new machine. :-)

Should point out AspireOS 1.5 is due to be released any time now (maybe even today), and brings some nice new features (system-wide icon snapshotting, Intel 3D graphics acceleration, etc...). See announcement here:
http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?post_id=62336#forumpost62336
"OS5 is so fast that only Chuck Norris can use it." AeroMan
 

Offline Dazxy2001

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2011, 11:24:35 PM »
Quote from: HenryCase;672713
Congratulations! Glad you're happy with your new machine. :-)

Should point out AspireOS 1.5 is due to be released any time now (maybe even today), and brings some nice new features (system-wide icon snapshotting, Intel 3D graphics acceleration, etc...). See announcement here:
http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?post_id=62336#forumpost62336


Yup, I downloaded and installed it yesterday and had a nosey around aros-archives... Sonic the Hedgehog looks great running on the dgen port :D
Rediscovered that Amiga companionship :)
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 40mhz, 16MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 28mhz, 8MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1A, 2MB
A1200 Rev 2B, 2MB
A1200 Rev 1D1, 2MB
A500 Rev 6A 512K +A501 512K
A500+ Rev 8 2MB & Supraram 2MB sidecart
Lombard G3 Powerbook 333Mhz, 384MB, 12GB HD, FreeBSD 8.2-Release
Acer Aspire One 1.5GB Ram 8GB SSD, Aros
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2011, 03:00:31 PM »
downloading Icaros right now.   Going to see if I can get the full install booting off my USB memory stick.  From screenshots it looks very elegant.   Is UAE included?  Does Icaros/AROS have a website with a files section so we can download other things?   I would have registered on the AROS exec forum, but yahoo.com email addys not allowed..  oh well.
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline HenryCase

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2011, 05:40:18 PM »
Quote from: Dazxy2001;672789
Yup, I downloaded and installed it yesterday and had a nosey around aros-archives... Sonic the Hedgehog looks great running on the dgen port :D

Cool. :-)

Quote from: TheMagicM;673082
downloading Icaros right now.   Going to see if I can get the full install booting off my USB memory stick.  From screenshots it looks very elegant.   Is UAE included?  Does Icaros/AROS have a website with a files section so we can download other things?   I would have registered on the AROS exec forum, but yahoo.com email addys not allowed..  oh well.


Yes, UAE is included, and if I remember correctly the AROS Kickstart ROM is as well, meaning it's ready to use straight away. Additional programs for AROS can be found on AROS Archives ( http://archives.aros-exec.org/ ) and Aminet ( http://aros.aminet.net/ ), but probably the best way to keep track of new software releases is to read AROS-Exec forum posts. I could see if there's a chance of removing the block on your particular email address, if you like. PM it to me, and I'll see what I can do.
"OS5 is so fast that only Chuck Norris can use it." AeroMan
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2011, 05:58:14 PM »
@HenryCase

That is probably the best looking UI in all the "Amiga" like OS's (Amiga OS classic vs AmigaOS 4 vs MorphOS) ..  I ran it thru VirtualBox and it ran fine..I'm going to see if I can get it to load in a USB drive.
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline HenryCase

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2011, 07:43:53 PM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;673116
@HenryCase

That is probably the best looking UI in all the "Amiga" like OS's (Amiga OS classic vs AmigaOS 4 vs MorphOS) ..  I ran it thru VirtualBox and it ran fine..I'm going to see if I can get it to load in a USB drive.


Of course best looking is a subjective decision, but I'm glad to hear you like the UI.

If you're looking to install AROS to a USB stick, I'd recommend taking a look at the Icaros manual, section 3.1:
http://www.icarosdesktop.com/icarosfiles/IcarosDesktop_manual.pdf

The Icaros manual has quite a bit of useful information, definitely worth looking through to get to know how to install and configure AROS.
"OS5 is so fast that only Chuck Norris can use it." AeroMan