Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: So other commodore machines?  (Read 5410 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RobertB

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2011, 08:40:21 PM »
Quote from: ChaosLord;627330
Does the C64dtv allow to copy new games onto it?

If you have the C64 DTV v2 or v3, you can reflash it to have different games.

FCUG celebrating 30 years,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
 

Offline RobertB

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2011, 08:42:47 PM »
Quote from: Cammy;627326
I can't wait to play Shredz64 on one some day, preferably with one of my guitar controllers.

The PSX64 adapter should now be available in order for you to play Shredz64.

FCUG celebrating 30 years,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
 

Offline Franko

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2011, 08:50:37 PM »
Quote from: klx300r;627556
the Catweasel MK4+ will allow you to use dual SIDS on it to solve your problem Franko...awesome product !


I've quite often looked at the Catweasel board but never got round to buying one, it's like I say the Frodo C64 emulator on the Amiga runs fine it's only the SID emulation that lets it down... :)

Reckon though I prefer to use my real C64s to play C64Games especially with the MMC board where I have a 4GB SD card with all my C64 Games on it, so there are no tapes or disks involved and I rewrote the BIOS for it to allow full loading and saving of the C64s memory including "under the ROMS"... :)
 

Offline Digiman

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2011, 09:39:11 PM »
Quote from: runequester;627488
I always really liked the look of the 128. Just a nice, sleek design. A friend of mine had one when I was a kid, but we only ever used it in the 64 mode, to run old games.


It's great for development. Nice disk drives and nicer keyboard.Very little reason for games players to swap to a 128 though. Shame really.
 

Offline Digiman

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #19 on: April 04, 2011, 09:45:40 PM »
Quote from: Franko;627920
I've quite often looked at the Catweasel board but never got round to buying one, it's like I say the Frodo C64 emulator on the Amiga runs fine it's only the SID emulation that lets it down... :)

Reckon though I prefer to use my real C64s to play C64Games especially with the MMC board where I have a 4GB SD card with all my C64 Games on it, so there are no tapes or disks involved and I rewrote the BIOS for it to allow full loading and saving of the C64s memory including "under the ROMS"... :)


Funny thing is on WinVICE I use TAP files only.

SID sound via reSID model +2ghz CPU in WinVICE sounds nice. Anyway I bought the 6581 Inside MP3 disc and it's fantastic, real C64 music to play on my amp *wooo*

Even better they're working on an 8Gb double disc set for Amiga MP3 digitally enhanced set, summer 2011 I think.
 

Offline Nostalgiac

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2011, 09:58:05 PM »
Quote from: Digiman;627960
It's great for development. Nice disk drives and nicer keyboard.Very little reason for games players to swap to a 128 though. Shame really.


fully agree - when my c64 blew up (literally, a power-surge) I got a C128 and used it primarily for SuperText (school), SuperBase/Geos and for development, great little machine to program in assembler using TopAss and the REU I got :)

I don't have the space to have it setup permanently (neither for my A2000) which is a shame :(

Tom UK
2000/2060/128mb/2320/2gb/C64-3D/Hydra-Aminet on OS 3.9

c128/1541/1750/1351 with Dolphin Dos and eprom burner
 

Offline tone007

  • sad moaning faced git
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 3238
  • Total likes: 0
Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #21 on: June 15, 2011, 02:47:48 PM »
One of my C64s sees some real action!

3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #22 on: June 15, 2011, 04:11:56 PM »
I still have my original VIC-20 in working order, but my Super Expander has gone walkabout.  I have 3 other "breadbox" C64s (1 dead) and 3 C128s (1 dead) which I used on a regular basis for my classic 8 bit fix.

I picked up a C-One as a possible replacement, but it never actually replaced the C64 and the Amiga module never worked right compared to the Minimig.  Eventually it broke so now it gathers dust.

I then went back to the real C128/C64 again and bought a MMC Replay cartridge which was great for playing some T64 and D64 games off an SD Card.

Lately I picked up a C64C and a Chameleon cartridge which is better than sliced bread.  Although the core is still in Beta, it works well and I have real Commodore floppy drives connected to the actual C64C, I use the Chameleon VGA out to my plasma monitor, I can launch many T64 and D64 programs from the SD Card, access several built in Cartridge images, use the joystick ports on the C64C, attach a PS-2 mouse and keyboard if I wish, etc.

I haven't had a chance to use it for a couple of months due to work commitments and a trip to the UK, but it now has a Minimig core too (which is where the PS-2 keyboard could be useful) and new cartridges have been added such as Simons BASIC.

Also, for those who don't have a real C64 any more, it works in "standalone mode" where you can plug real C64 drives into a port attached directly to the cartridge and use a PS-2 keyboard (and mouse), although in standalone mode it has to draw power from a USB souce (cable supplied - either plug it into a PC/Mac or use a USB-110/240v socket adapter liek you use for charging phones/MP3 players).  An expender which attaches to the connector that would normally plug into the real C64's cartridge slot due to be released shortly and that will add 4 joystick ports and a connector for a real C64 keyboard (for anyone who has a dead C64 with a good keyboard).

Updates come all the time and hopefully it won't be long before the "retail" version is available to the masses.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #23 on: June 15, 2011, 04:15:29 PM »
Quote from: tone007;645478
One of my C64s sees some real action!



Nice!  :)
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline yakumo9275

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #24 on: June 15, 2011, 04:21:34 PM »
I have a 128dcr with u1541-ii cartridge and 1902a monitor. I'm writing an adventure interpreter/mini vm. works on 64bit linux and c64/128. right now its scott adams level verb/noun but i'm expanding it to use some little more complex stuff but not fullsentence (ie: you can say unlock wooden door with wooden key.. it cheats and you get {player} verb noun noun.

game script compiler is actually a ruby script so you cant compile on the c64/c128 ;) but the binary data files are transportable between systems, so too save files...
--/\\-[ Stu ]-/\\--
Commodore 128DCR, JiffyDOS, Ultimate 1541 II, uIEC/SD, CBM 1902A  Monitor
 

Offline motrucker

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #25 on: June 15, 2011, 04:27:18 PM »
All of my 8 bit computers were stolen some time back. I still have copies of Wiz Ball and Potty Pigeon for the C-64 that I used to enjoy - and will again soon. I even landed a Warp Speed Cart to use in a C-128 as soon as.....
A2000 GVP 40MHz \'030, 21Mb RAM SD/FF, 2 floppies, internal CD-ROM drive, micromys v3 w/laser mouse
A1000 Microbotics Starboard II w/2Mb 1080, & external floppy (AIRdrive)
C-128 w/1571, 1750, & Final Cartridge III+
 

Offline yakumo9275

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2011, 04:49:01 PM »
Quote from: motrucker;645493
I even landed a Warp Speed Cart to use in a C-128 as soon as.....


that is my fav cart!
--/\\-[ Stu ]-/\\--
Commodore 128DCR, JiffyDOS, Ultimate 1541 II, uIEC/SD, CBM 1902A  Monitor
 

Offline spihunter

Re: So other commodore machines?
« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2011, 05:42:03 PM »
I've got a luggable Commodore SX-64. I've got one of the kits where you can hook it to the serial port of a PC and use the PC as a hard drive but I've not gotten around to using it yet.