Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??  (Read 3019 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motorollin

Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #30 on: December 26, 2010, 07:53:27 PM »
Quote from: Darrin;601953
My kids liked Tron.  I saw it in 3D and the effects were great, but the story was rather bland.  Basically, you knew what was going to happen next all the way through

Welcome to Hollywood ;)
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline gaula92

Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #31 on: January 11, 2011, 02:56:42 PM »
Did you try to get the savedisk working, Darrin?
Not that important, but well, I could use save in Cannon Fodder :P
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #32 on: January 11, 2011, 03:11:05 PM »
Quote from: gaula92;605701
Did you try to get the savedisk working, Darrin?
Not that important, but well, I could use save in Cannon Fodder :P


I couldn't with the latest core on the Minimig (although the WHDLoad version saves to the hard file).  Unfortunately the testing was done with a much older core.

I then had the idea of powering up the C-One which uses an older Minimig core, but I got sidetracked with issues with that core (joystick detection not working correctly, only one sound channel plus the SID chip for C64 emulation playing up).

Somewhere in my office is a CF Card with a C-One core that does work correctly and that is my last hope for producing a working save disk.  Unfortunately I'm in Houston until Friday.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline gertsy

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2006
  • Posts: 2298
  • Country: au
  • Total likes: 2
    • http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/~gbakker64/
Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #33 on: January 13, 2011, 11:50:25 AM »
Why did you have to go to Houston for ?
Do they have a prob......?

Apologies.  BTW Savedisk works fine on an unadulterated Cclassic.  But you knew that already..
 

Offline gaula92

Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #34 on: January 19, 2011, 11:45:45 AM »
Hey Darrin, sorry if I'm annoying...did you finally suceeed in the savedisk creation with the C-ONE?
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #35 on: January 19, 2011, 01:29:18 PM »
Hi Gaula,

It's OK, keep reminding me.  :)

No, sorry, I still haven't.  What limited time I had on the weekend (my other "Amiga", the wife, kept insisting that I do things with her) were wrapped up updating my Minimig to the latest core and then trying to get that 1.6GB hard file speed sorted as I was only getting about 50% of what I should have been.

I was also getting issues with my Minimig not recognising a different SD Card.

Eventually the issue was tracked down to the formatting on the SD Card.  It seems that the formatting tool for CF and SD cards given away with your typical OS' doesn't fully conform with the standard laid out (according to Panasonic).  So I downloaded their free formatting tool and it fixed the new card so that it worked, and I reformatted the old card and the speed doubled (although I can't rule out that high speed mode may have been issue).

Anyway, that's as far as I got and now I'm back in Houston again.

I'll try again this weekend now that I have a fully functioning and tuned up machine to try it on.

For the record, here's how the new Minimig v1.1 & ARM core is responding on SysInfo:

OLD CORE/FIRMWARE:
Minimig 4MB with ARM using 2GB SD Card
68000 @ 39.00 MHz (as reported by SysInfo)
Drystones 1611
Mips 1.68
Chip v A600 = 3.00
speed v B2000 = 2.30
speed v A600 = 3.04
20MB Hard File: 822,627 Bps (OS3.1)
1.6GB Hard File: 833,968 Bps (ClassicWB, boots in 18 secs)

NEW CORE/FIRMWARE (Before reformatting card):
Minimig 4MB with ARM using 2GB SD Card
68000 @ 52.50 MHz (as reported by SysInfo)
Drystones 4591
Mips 4.79
Chip v A600 = 5.68
speed v B2000 = 6.56
speed v A600 = 8.67
20MB Hard File: 890,636 Bps (OS3.1)
1.6GB Hard File: 885,621 Bps (ClassicWB, boots in 12 secs)

After reformatting card with Panasonic untility:

1.6GB Hard File: 1,966,080 Bps Bps (ClassicWB, untimed boot)

Just for interest, I had my A2000 set up so I compared the speeds to that:

Meanwhile, I ran Sysinfo on my A2000 (because it is the only real miggy I have set up and working right now as the A4000 is in pieces again):

A2000 ECS 16MB Fast RAM & RTG CV643D
68040 @ 32.60 MHz (as reported by SysInfo)
Drystones 23,347
Mips 24.37
speed v B2000 = 33.40
speed v A600 = 39.77
40MB hard drive on GVP CPU SCSI: 1,569,724 bps
4GB CF Card attached via IDE Bhudda: 1,422,119 bps

So, all in all the Minimig stacks up pretty well as a cheap Amiga, especially for those who only really want to play games.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2011, 01:33:29 PM by Darrin »
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline gaula92

Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #36 on: January 19, 2011, 05:23:31 PM »
Quote from: Darrin;607618


I was also getting issues with my Minimig not recognising a different SD Card.



This is very interesting indeed... Did you ask about the Minimig not being able to read a Transcend 4GB SDHC on the Minimig forum? I'm having problems with 4GB SDHC cards, too, but I can't find the solution.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #37 on: January 19, 2011, 06:28:03 PM »
Quote from: gaula92;607675
This is very interesting indeed... Did you ask about the Minimig not being able to read a Transcend 4GB SDHC on the Minimig forum? I'm having problems with 4GB SDHC cards, too, but I can't find the solution.


Try using this download to format the card:
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/sd/download/index.html

The 1GB card I initially used refused to work and (IIRC) the red light on the Minimig stayed on and the green one flashed while the screen stayed black (or perhaps it was the other way around).  Anyway, after reformatting with the Panasonic software (on the same machine) and putting the same files back, it booted first time.

Personally, I've never used an SD card larger than 2GB on my Minimig, but I believe it supports up to 16GB.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2011, 06:33:37 PM by Darrin »
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #38 on: January 23, 2011, 06:11:21 PM »
Well I still can't get a save game ADF made on the Minimig v1.1.

I got the C-One going and thought I had made some more progress, but my C-One has issues with it locking up and refusing to boot unless I "wiggle" the RAM.  Well, it locked up during testing, I wiggled the RAM and the little plastic bits that hold the RAM in place snapped.  It now refuses to boot at all.

RIP C-One.  It is probably for the best as the damn thing has been sending my blood pressure through the roof since I bought it.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline gaula92

Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #39 on: January 25, 2011, 02:21:15 PM »
Sorry to hear that about your C-ONE. I was once tempted to get one of these (years ago) but of course I finally skipped it... requiring a PC powersupply didn't look like a good sign. I believe it's death is for good: Minimig is just a lot better :D

In the other hand, I believe another solution would be to run the AmigaCD32 Whdload version of Cannon Fodder, but WITHOUT whdload. The Whdload version includes the game executable and it has AGA registers access removed (from it's readme), but the Amiga OS won't recognize the file as an executable one.
Could you take a look, please? I think it's something stupid, like the main executable file (called cannon_game, in the data/ folder) not having the proper header or something.

http://www.whdownload.com/games/Update-2007-09-11/CannonFodder_v1.1_CD32.zip
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #40 on: January 25, 2011, 07:14:28 PM »
Quote from: gaula92;608929
Sorry to hear that about your C-ONE. I was once tempted to get one of these (years ago) but of course I finally skipped it... requiring a PC powersupply didn't look like a good sign. I believe it's death is for good: Minimig is just a lot better :D

In the other hand, I believe another solution would be to run the AmigaCD32 Whdload version of Cannon Fodder, but WITHOUT whdload. The Whdload version includes the game executable and it has AGA registers access removed (from it's readme), but the Amiga OS won't recognize the file as an executable one.
Could you take a look, please? I think it's something stupid, like the main executable file (called cannon_game, in the data/ folder) not having the proper header or something.

http://www.whdownload.com/games/Update-2007-09-11/CannonFodder_v1.1_CD32.zip


Unfortunately I'm now in Odessa, Texas and almost 1000 miles from my Minimig.  I could be here for a month.  :)
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline gaula92

Re: Saving in Cannon Fodder on the Minimig: Darrin can do it??
« Reply #41 on: January 25, 2011, 07:50:30 PM »
Ok,ok, don't worry. I'll ask over EAB, there are great Amiga experts there, too :D