Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Lets talk: Alien Breed  (Read 5923 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline runequester

  • It\'s Amiga time!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 3695
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #45 on: November 12, 2010, 10:21:41 PM »
Quote from: XDelusion;591285
Do the original top down version support Strafing/Running, or two or more button joypads for that matter?


No to the former, although tower assault supports backing up.

They do support two button sticks and pads. The second button usually becomes the scanner (at least in AB2 and TA)
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #46 on: November 12, 2010, 10:31:44 PM »
:(

Well the Wii port has one advantage then.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline RMK305

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #47 on: November 12, 2010, 10:36:45 PM »
There is a Wii port?
Amiga 4000, Warp Engine 040/40MHz, CV643D with scan doubler module, Tocatta soundcard, Deneb, 72Meg fast ram, 18 gig scsi hard drive.

3xA500, 1xA1200, 1xCD32
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #48 on: November 12, 2010, 10:49:53 PM »
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline Franko

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #49 on: November 12, 2010, 10:59:44 PM »
Just been testing the following, all be it on my 060 Amiga, running each at max resolution, full audio etc... :)

AB3d - Smooth as a babies bum
Fears - Ditto
Breathless - the same

Doom - Jerky & lots of glitches, not even close to being as playable or enjoyable as any of the above... :(

(couldn't test them on any of my 030 miggies as their all in bits just now... :))
 

Offline runequester

  • It\'s Amiga time!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 3695
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #50 on: November 12, 2010, 11:02:39 PM »
Quote from: Franko;591307
Just been testing the following, all be it on my 060 Amiga, running each at max resolution, full audio etc... :)

AB3d - Smooth as a babies bum
Fears - Ditto
Breathless - the same

Doom - Jerky & lots of glitches, not even close to being as playable or enjoyable as any of the above... :(

(couldn't test them on any of my 030 miggies as their all in bits just now... :))


Weird. I've seen Doom run pretty well on 040's. What port were you using ?
 

Offline RMK305

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #51 on: November 13, 2010, 12:01:57 AM »
XDelusion,

Thanks for that. I haven't tried Homebrew on the Wii yet.

Franko,

I run doom just fine on my A4000. ADoom and Doom Attack. :)
Amiga 4000, Warp Engine 040/40MHz, CV643D with scan doubler module, Tocatta soundcard, Deneb, 72Meg fast ram, 18 gig scsi hard drive.

3xA500, 1xA1200, 1xCD32
 

Offline actung_bab

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #52 on: November 13, 2010, 12:10:12 AM »
Quote from: odin;590371
I played Tower Assault. I don't think I ever played AB1 or 2. I know one thing: don't bother with the new Alien Breeds which Team 17 released a couple of months ago on Steam. They are utterly boring. The Shadowgrounds games are much, much better and for a modern multiplayer Alien Breed check out the free Alien Swarm.

Team 17 really lost their touch 15 years ago :\.

l have to agree but new alien breed impact looks really promising it be on xbox360
and psx 3
yes love alien breed special edtion my fav amiga game
Acthung baby
http://telnet://midnight-blue.dyndns.org
Cnet 4.60 PRO bbs software
Amiga 1200 020 14 mhz mbz 1200 z pcmcia network card 4 meg ram 2 Gb scandisk cf
Amiga 2000 020
Amiga 4000 030 25 mhz broken
Amiga x 4 1200
x 6 Sony Ps 3 Orginal 60 gb 4  port usb 160 gb hd (os 4.1 ready :-)
what can i say i like thse machines
x 3 XBOX 360 1x xbox 360 slim
url=http://avatars.jurko.net][/url]
 

Offline Franko

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #53 on: November 13, 2010, 02:39:00 AM »
Quote from: runequester;591309
Weird. I've seen Doom run pretty well on 040's. What port were you using ?


Not sure I'd need to check, strange thing is I don't remember it being so bad when I ran it on my Blizzard060 board, but on my Blizzard060/PPC board it seems a bit glitchy and slower somehow than the last time I played it on the plain 060...

Need to dig out the plain 060 and compare the two... :)
 

Offline jj

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4037
  • Country: wales
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #54 on: November 15, 2010, 01:02:44 PM »
Quote from: actung_bab;591329
l have to agree but new alien breed impact looks really promising it be on xbox360
and psx 3
yes love alien breed special edtion my fav amiga game

 
You will be dissapointed.  The new alien breed game on xbox is rather poor
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.13 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline jj

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4037
  • Country: wales
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #55 on: November 15, 2010, 01:03:28 PM »
Quote from: Franko;591356
Not sure I'd need to check, strange thing is I don't remember it being so bad when I ran it on my Blizzard060 board, but on my Blizzard060/PPC board it seems a bit glitchy and slower somehow than the last time I played it on the plain 060...
 
Need to dig out the plain 060 and compare the two... :)

 
Is there not a PPC port of Doom the same as quake ?
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.13 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline Karlos

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #56 on: November 15, 2010, 01:57:12 PM »
Quote from: JJ;591921
Is there not a PPC port of Doom the same as quake ?


More than one, in fact. There was ADoomPPC, ZhaDoom and at least one or two others IIRC.
int p; // A
 

Offline fishy_fiz

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #57 on: November 15, 2010, 02:07:27 PM »
@Franko

Might be worth trying a different port of 2 of Doom. There's a big difference in speed between some of the Amiga versions. ADoom seems to be a favorite for 68k (not sure if theres a ppc version though).
Near as I can tell this is where I write something under the guise of being innocuous, but really its a pot shot at another persons/peoples choice of Amiga based systems. Unfortunately only I cant see how transparent and petty it makes me look.
 

Offline jj

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4037
  • Country: wales
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #58 on: November 15, 2010, 03:23:53 PM »
Tought there was.  But from memory Franko has PPC not GPU.  So will a ppc version make much difference.
 
Do the PPC ports have support for AGA
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.13 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline Karlos

Re: Lets talk: Alien Breed
« Reply #59 on: November 15, 2010, 03:45:35 PM »
Quote from: JJ;591937
Tought there was.  But from memory Franko has PPC not GPU.


GPU isn't used as the rendering is entirely software driven (note there are GL ports, not sure if any are available on Amiga). The only advantage you get on RTG here is a faster bus speed and no need to do C2P.

Quote
 So will a ppc version make much difference.


Yes. Further to the above, at the default resolution of 320x200 on the PPC, even the most basic C2P routines tend to hit the chip ram "write speed" wall long before any issues caused by their lack of optimisation. However, the C2P routines used were at least as optimal as most 68K versions.

ADoomPPC was actually very playable at a variety of resolutions higher than the default 320x200 on my BlizzPPC. The determining factor was more to do with whether or not the current column being rendered would fit comfortably in the cache.
 
Quote
Do the PPC ports have support for AGA


ADoomPPC certainly does.
int p; // A