Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Native AROS & TCP/IP  (Read 1355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline divined

Native AROS & TCP/IP
« on: September 15, 2010, 07:04:47 AM »
Hello everybody

I`ve installed Native AROS on my old IBM ThinkPad R40. This laptop has an Intel Pro/100 NIC which according to this wiki http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/x86_support

is supported by AROS. Unfortunately, when I try to manually enter an IP address I get the error :

Code: [Select]
Failed to Restart Stack

Am I missing something here?
Retro is fun, until it totally engrosses you back into your former life!!!
 

Offline Colani1200

Re: Native AROS & TCP/IP
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 08:00:36 AM »
Is the IP address set correctly after reboot?
 

Offline divined

Re: Native AROS & TCP/IP
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2010, 08:26:36 AM »
seems no. The problem goes as follows :

1) I open the config tool from Prefs/Network Preferences
2) I press add and manually add and Select the intelpro100.device
3) I then proceed to enter the IP address, DNS and gateway.
4) When I press Save or USE I get the error 'Failed to restart network stack'
Retro is fun, until it totally engrosses you back into your former life!!!
 

Offline divined

Re: Native AROS & TCP/IP
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2010, 08:31:40 AM »
I think I got it working finally. It seems it needed a reboot. :-)

Now I need to find out how to surf the web using AROS for start!!!
Retro is fun, until it totally engrosses you back into your former life!!!
 

Offline runequester

  • It\'s Amiga time!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 3695
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Native AROS & TCP/IP
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2010, 09:03:25 AM »
Quote from: divined;579472
I think I got it working finally. It seems it needed a reboot. :-)

Now I need to find out how to surf the web using AROS for start!!!


let us know how it goes :)
 

Offline divined

Re: Native AROS & TCP/IP
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2010, 10:32:19 AM »
Well, I just downloaded and played with OWB. It works but on various occasions it locks up the system completely. Even the screen dies off!! Maybe something with my system though!!
Retro is fun, until it totally engrosses you back into your former life!!!
 

Offline jj

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4037
  • Country: wales
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: Native AROS & TCP/IP
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2010, 10:37:17 AM »
running out of RAM ?
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.13 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline divined

Re: Native AROS & TCP/IP
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2010, 10:58:57 AM »
No, I seem to have memory. 256MB of it on this old dog. I`m posting from AROS now. Hasn`t crashed since then though!!
Retro is fun, until it totally engrosses you back into your former life!!!
 

 

Connection Problems

Connection Problems

Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.