Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: tales of tamar  (Read 1567 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2003, 08:25:14 PM »
@amigakid
irc.euirc.net port 6667
#tales  ;-)
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline lempkee

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2003, 08:44:19 PM »
amigakid:pm me
Whats up with all the hate!
 

Offline amigakid

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2003, 07:55:32 AM »
sorry about the caps lock:) hit it and forget about it sometimes:)
 

Offline Karlos

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #18 on: December 01, 2003, 08:37:26 AM »
@wolfen

That screenshot in the images gallery looks pretty nice :-)

What was that running on?
int p; // A
 

Offline TheFab

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2003, 10:26:45 AM »
Hello guys,

i look at a preview of this game and it seem very interesting :-)

does this game work under morphos?

@Wolfen: about 3d map, does it work on morphos too?
 

Offline amigakid

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2003, 09:26:16 PM »
not sure, i'll find out for ya tho:)
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #21 on: December 02, 2003, 09:44:11 PM »
@TheFab

It does work, but ....

It does lots of hits at startup, meaning you would either want RAMDEBUG
or will have to wait for a while till it starts.

I also found that useing the debug-version is strongly adviced, and you won't
be able to leave the game (it hangs when you try).

Sounds bad ?
Not really, onces it runs, it runs, and crashes on the Peg have been less than
they were on the A4000/060 and making daily backups of the map and data dirs
is strongly adviced regardless of used HW and OS.

It greets
Rotting Balti, deceased Earl of Takkatukka
Clanwolf and plundered merchant of the 2nd epoche  :-P
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline lempkee

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2003, 10:04:34 PM »
yeah debug version is the one u should use and dont use the CD unless u want it to be unstable ,
but i have found my ways around it, anyway when i use debug version it have maybe crashed 1 out 100 times, when i dont use debug version it crash 5 out of 10..

anyway the crashes aint of big importance but iw ould like them to go away.

anyway if you have a powerflyer then make sure you wont load both cd and hdd from it as that will crash tot sadly, i have tried to log this in the debug but its been hard...

anyway i switched to scsi and i havent had probs with it.

also wolfen is working hard of fixinig the issues .



anyway the 3d map is not incorporated into the amiga or morphos or mac or pc versions yet, unless its an alpha version which i never will see (as i am a player and not a tester)


Whats up with all the hate!
 

Offline bhoggett

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #23 on: December 02, 2003, 11:57:41 PM »
Mine never crashes.  :-D

MUHAHAhahahahaaaaaa.....
Bill Hoggett
 

Offline KennyR

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2003, 02:44:17 AM »
I got Tales of Tamar free with my Pegasos this May. I haven't gotten around to registering it and I probably won't ever.

It's too daunting if you don't have the manuals. And I just don't like the idea of paying for a game I already own. Sorry. I toyed with the idea for a while but I've made up my mind.
 

Offline bhoggett

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2003, 03:55:39 AM »
@KennyR

Quote
I got Tales of Tamar free with my Pegasos this May. I haven't gotten around to registering it and I probably won't ever.

That's fair enough. Easy come, easy go.

Quote
It's too daunting if you don't have the manuals.

Nah. The manual don't help much, trust me. Besides, the English manual is available for free download IIRC.

Quote
And I just don't like the idea of paying for a game I already own.

?

You mean you don't like paying per turn? That's fair enough, but it is standard practice for play-by-mail games that dates back long before computers became popular.

Quote
Sorry. I toyed with the idea for a while but I've made up my mind.

Well, the copy you have is essentially a promotional freebie, like a Lite version of a commercial application included in a software bundle.

I don't see how the funding and payment model is something to complain about. If you didn't pay per turn, and all play was free after you bought the software, then the initial cost would have to be in three figures and there could be no promotional copies at all. This would be counter productive as many people would be put off by the high price, and the folks running the game would be signing on to an idefinite commitment to service their customers, even well after sales dry out. When you think about it, that would be unworkable.

Besides, if you look at it in terms of cost/playing time, you'll find that ToT is better value than games like Quake II or Shogo.
Bill Hoggett
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2003, 04:44:03 AM »
@KennyR

Didn't that version include 80 turns or so ?
Just burn them of, before you mak an desicion, and nobody is gonna
force you to buy more turns, except maybe you yourself  ;-)
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline lempkee

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #27 on: December 03, 2003, 12:13:53 PM »
kronos and bhogget and wolfen etc:

in general why people say stuff like KennyR (its very common) , people dont understand the concept and most of all they missed out the point of reading the actual round price + checking how many free rounds the game was delivered with + and how you use a turn.

SE version (which KEnnyR has i think›?) has 75 free rounds, thats 75 DAYS (1 turn by day...you cant use more or less).
the Full 3 cd version of the game is 300 Turns for free.

And the Player decide if they want to stop after 20 turns, then you can just sell the game or put it on a shelf.

no one is forcing anyone to continue or what ever, and the price pre round is 10cent (10p?) so when you are about to run out of turns then you can either buy 1 year or simmilar i one go or just a few turns, remeber if you buy turns and dont play em ..then you can sell the game and next player can join in (but you need to let wolfen know if registration changes name ofcourse)

i really dont see the fuzz here, i am a big fan of this game and seriously i think its one of the best games so far out there..


kennyr: registrate and use your free turns atleast, see if you like it..i havent heard of anyone shouting that this game is crap yet....


 
Whats up with all the hate!
 

Offline Wolfen

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #28 on: December 04, 2003, 12:50:25 PM »
@Karlos

Thats a preview from our 3d graphican and it shows our goal for the 3d engine. In fact we want that this map runs on a classic amiga PPC with a 3d card.

Atm the map makes about 3-4 fps on a cybervision 3D and you know how old this card is.

We will see :-)

Wolfen
 

Offline Wolfen

Re: tales of tamar
« Reply #29 on: December 04, 2003, 12:57:30 PM »
@Karlos

Yes it works, but there are two problems atm. One is a bug in MOS at CloseScreen. Tales of Tamar cant close the screen on MOS (1.2-1.4). With 1.1 and older it works :-\

The second thing is that the game sometimes hangs on some Pegasos. I found the reason some days ago and this time its a ToT problem (my problem! :-)). Seems to be the anim routines.

But on most machines the game works well. Naturally its important to get the latest update of the game.

Every update is free, because the price of the turns includes also the updates.

Sfmbe!

Wolfen