Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Bad HD (720p) video play back  (Read 3739 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline toca180

Bad HD (720p) video play back
« on: August 28, 2009, 01:46:56 PM »
Hi PC gurus,

I'm having a few issues playing back 720p MKV files on my computer (might be other 720p files but I only have mkv). The sound plays fine but the video skips and jumps using VLC. My computer is:

CPU: Pentium 4 2.4Ghz
RAM: 2GB DDR2
Grapics Card: GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB (AGP)
OS: Win XP Pro

What can I do to improve the play back performance? Would upgrading the graphics card help? Or am I just asking too much from my computer?

Thanks
Robert
A1200 (Dead :-(  OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2009, 02:00:39 PM »
Quote from: toca180;521268
Hi PC gurus,

I'm having a few issues playing back 720p MKV files on my computer (might be other 720p files but I only have mkv). The sound plays fine but the video skips and jumps using VLC. My computer is:

CPU: Pentium 4 2.4Ghz
RAM: 2GB DDR2
Grapics Card: GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB (AGP)
OS: Win XP Pro

What can I do to improve the play back performance? Would upgrading the graphics card help? Or am I just asking too much from my computer?

I doubt new gfxcard will help with VLC + mkv.
 

Offline mikeymike

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2009, 02:05:01 PM »
You could try download a quicktime HD trailer and running through VLC (Quicktime 7x eats CPU for breakfast on Windows, VLC is much better - HD trailers stuttered constantly on my Athlon XP 2500+, and ran 100% smooth through VLC - I had a Ti4200 64MB AGP at that point).  It could be mkv, it's a format I rarely encounter.

CPU - P4 2.4GHz with DDR2?  Are you quite sure about that?  Not that it should make much difference in this scenario.

Offline toca180

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2009, 02:14:32 PM »
Quote
CPU - P4 2.4GHz with DDR2?  Are you quite sure about that?

No, not really, but my computer is at home and I can't check, was about 60% sure.

Had not thought about QT trailers, will give that a go when I get home.

Is VLC the "best" player to use for Windows?

Thanks
Robert
A1200 (Dead :-(  OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531
 

Offline mikeymike

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2009, 02:28:56 PM »
VLC - I think so, yes, at least I haven't heard of anything close to it before.  It doesn't do everything out there, but it does most of it.

About your RAM, if you hadn't said that you've got 2GB RAM installed, I would have suggested that it had SDRAM or DDR1.  With 2GB I think it has to be DDR1, practically speaking.

Offline platon42

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2009, 02:41:51 PM »
Quote from: toca180;521268
Hi PC gurus,

I'm having a few issues playing back 720p MKV files on my computer (might be other 720p files but I only have mkv). The sound plays fine but the video skips and jumps using VLC. My computer is:

CPU: Pentium 4 2.4Ghz
RAM: 2GB DDR2
Grapics Card: GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB (AGP)
OS: Win XP Pro

What can I do to improve the play back performance? Would upgrading the graphics card help? Or am I just asking too much from my computer?


I can play back 720p mkv container files just fine on my Atom 1.3 GHz CPU with i890 (?) gfx chipset. However, I need to disable post processing as it is really at its limit. I'm using the CoreAVC or DivX 7 codecs for H.264. MPlayer is far too slow for that to work at least on my machine.
--
Regards, Chris Hodges )-> http://www.platon42.de <-(
hackerkey://v4sw7CJS$hw6/7ln6pr7+8AOP$ck0ma8u2LMw1/4Xm5l3i5TJCOTextPad/e7t2BDMNb7GHLen5a34s5IMr1g3/5ACM
 

Offline toca180

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2009, 02:47:03 PM »
Just wondered if there was anything more Windows based/optimized (as I though, probably wrongly, that VLC was very Linux based)?

Thanks
Robert
A1200 (Dead :-(  OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531
 

Offline ZeBeeDee

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2009, 02:53:24 PM »
Try using GOMPlayer ... I've had very mixed results in the past with VLC Player

http://www.gomlab.com/eng

Also check the codecs you have installed ... they might be old and out of date. Here is the latest K-Lite Mega Codec Pack ...

http://www.codecguide.com/download_mega.htm
« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 02:57:10 PM by ZeBeeDee »
To err is human ... to BOING divine!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
 

Offline mikeymike

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2009, 02:53:59 PM »
In my experience, VLC runs better on Windows than Linux :)

Offline toca180

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2009, 02:59:14 PM »
Quote
Try using GOMPlayer
Quote
CoreAVC or DivX 7 codecs for H.264

Thanks guys. I will give them a try when I get home and report back.

Thanks
Robert
A1200 (Dead :-(  OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531
 

Offline toca180

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2009, 03:10:59 PM »
@piru

Would a graphics card that, for example, supports PureVideo not help?

Thanks
Robert
A1200 (Dead :-(  OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2009, 04:21:22 PM »
Quote from: toca180;521299
@piru

Would a graphics card that, for example, supports PureVideo not help?

Not with VLC.
 

Offline toca180

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2009, 04:27:06 PM »
@piru

So if I use another video player (I really do not care which one I use as long as the play back it good) then a PureVideo / Avivo supporting graphics card would help with the playback of HD (720p) video files (as long as the codec used for the video was supported by PureVideo / Avivo)?

Thanks
Robert
A1200 (Dead :-(  OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2009, 04:32:33 PM »
Quote from: toca180;521313
@piru

So if I use another video player (I really do not care which one I use as long as the play back it good) then a PureVideo / Avivo supporting graphics card would help with the playback of HD (720p) video files (as long as the codec used for the video was supported by PureVideo / Avivo)?

Correct.
 

Offline toca180

Re: Bad HD (720p) video play back
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2009, 04:44:44 PM »
@piru
Thank you. Sorry for the (hopefully not too) silly questions, just not that up on PC graphics cards.

@thread
If the other suggestions do not work for me which do you think is better: PureVideo or Avivo? Opinions please!

Thanks
Robert
« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 05:03:46 PM by toca180 »
A1200 (Dead :-(  OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531