Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..  (Read 2513 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2007, 12:40:30 AM »
Quote

Mazze wrote:
Quote

Steril707 wrote:
But Jamiga was developed for OS4 and 3.9 ...

I guess AROS is not compatible to them, anyway, isn't it?



This depends on what functions of AOS3.9 it uses. The biggest difference between AOS3.1 and 3.9 is the ReAction GUI system.


I guess i still have to learn a lot about AROS. The Amiga world can be confusing sometimes ;)
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline dammy

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2007, 12:59:20 AM »
Quote
Seems like Team Aros website is down ...


Upgraded the server OS, so I'm singing the blues :boohoo: Just finishing up a second install (h0rked up the first one with rsync) and back on the net. TeamAROS maybe back up tomorrow or so.  Painful upgrade, but it's now running FC7 x86_64 as AROS64's future build machine.

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2007, 01:02:48 AM »
@dammy
Quote
Painful upgrade, but it's now running FC7 x86_64 as AROS64's future build machine.

Excuse my ignorance, but why does AROS require you to run 64-bit OS to be able to build 64-bit version of it? Heck, you can even build things for different CPU, let alone 64bit target of the same CPU family...
 

Offline dammy

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #18 on: September 20, 2007, 12:08:37 PM »
Quote
Excuse my ignorance, but why does AROS require you to run 64-bit OS to be able to build 64-bit version of it? Heck, you can even build things for different CPU, let alone 64bit target of the same CPU family..


Because AROS build is difficult enough with same arch builds. If you need further clarification, talk to Dr. Schulz on this matter since he was the one who directed x86_64 native for a build machine for AROS64.

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2007, 01:57:38 PM »
So, after the painful process of installing Ubuntu on my PC, which involved resizing existing partitions on my hard disk, get up and ndiswrapper for my wlancard, and reconfiguring stuff i have never heard about before (xorg.conf for backingstore), i finally was able to get the hosted version Aros running, and it looks quite fine.

So, up to the next questions:

How do i integrate the Contrib. files into the aros folder i created? What do i do with all these nMake files?

Sorry to ask, these things are all new to me, and i am happy i was able to get the Linux side of this running.
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline Mazze

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2007, 07:02:11 PM »
Quote


How do i integrate the Contrib. files into the aros folder i created? What do i do with all these nMake files?


Did you download the source code of contrib? You need the binary release "i386-all-contrib".

You'd need the metamake files if you want to build AROS by yourself from the sourcecode:
Compiling AROS Documentation

Offline Mazze

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2007, 07:09:27 PM »
Quote

Piru wrote:
@dammy
Quote
Painful upgrade, but it's now running FC7 x86_64 as AROS64's future build machine.

Excuse my ignorance, but why does AROS require you to run 64-bit OS to be able to build 64-bit version of it? Heck, you can even build things for different CPU, let alone 64bit target of the same CPU family...


There was recently a discussion about this on the Developer Mailing List. IIRC the reason was that the build system uses tools from the host system. A possible solution would be that AROS builds its own crosscompiler suite from the source.

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #22 on: September 21, 2007, 07:21:51 AM »
Thanks for the hint on the "Binary"-Section. I wil try that out later. I guess that was the culprit.

So, some more questions from me:

How compatible is AROS in relation to the other A-OS'es or old code? I think i don't completely get this yet.

Example:
Let' say i take some old C-code, that adheres to the rules made by any old Amiga OS (3.1 or before), can i recompile that code and get it to run on AROS for example. And how compatible would this be to Morphos or AOS4?


Then, regarding this: http://ringlord.com/people/walrus/amiga/java.html

it seems there was already a working JVM on the Amiga platform. Wouldn't it been possible to get this to run on AROS somehow (so, thats where my questions about compatibilities from above come from).

I think getting Java to run on AROS would mean a lot of programs for the OS. And lots of programs cannot be a bad thing. :)

Mike

Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline Heinz

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #23 on: September 21, 2007, 07:39:48 AM »
Quote

Steril707 wrote:
Thanks for the hint on the "Binary"-Section. I wil try that out later. I guess that was the culprit.

So, some more questions from me:

How compatible is AROS in relation to the other A-OS'es or old code? I think i don't completely get this yet.

Example:
Let' say i take some old C-code, that adheres to the rules made by any old Amiga OS (3.1 or before), can i recompile that code and get it to run on AROS for example.


Yes. In most cases a recompile should work fine.
I tried that with Memleak  

 and it was really just a recompile and worked out of the Box!

But there may be some problems with different endianess in some cases. For example if a Program saves it Data in a binary Format, or if it reads or write directly to some registers, not using the system API.

Quote

 And how compatible would this be to Morphos or AOS4?


You would need to recompile the Program.

Quote

Then, regarding this: http://ringlord.com/people/walrus/amiga/java.html

it seems there was already a working JVM on the Amiga platform. Wouldn't it been possible to get this to run on AROS somehow (so, thats where my questions about compatibilities from above come from).


You need to ask this question to the author.

Quote

I think getting Java to run on AROS would mean a lot of programs for the OS. And lots of programs cannot be a bad thing. :)

Mike


I think so too.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #24 on: September 21, 2007, 07:41:00 AM »
@Steril707
Quote
it seems there was already a working JVM on the Amiga platform.

It depends on your definition of "working". IMO amiga platform does not have java.

Quote
I think getting Java to run on AROS would mean a lot of programs for the OS.

Such as? I can't remember many programs that don't have a GUI and run with anchient java version.
 

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #25 on: September 21, 2007, 07:47:17 AM »
Quote

Piru wrote:
@Steril707
Quote
it seems there was already a working JVM on the Amiga platform.

It depends on your definition of "working". IMO amiga platform does not have java.


Well, if the Kaffe JVM got ported to the Amiga OS, couldn't it been done again for some newer JVM? I think it would.

Quote

Quote
I think getting Java to run on AROS would mean a lot of programs for the OS.

Such as? I can't remember many programs that don't have a GUI and run with anchient java version.


I was generally talking about Java, not specifically about these old ports.
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #26 on: September 21, 2007, 10:12:13 AM »
@Steril707
Quote
Well, if the Kaffe JVM got ported to the Amiga OS, couldn't it been done again for some newer JVM?

That'd still not give you AWT, not to mention any other GUI stuff. That code is platform specific, and it has never been completed in any java "port" so far. Also:
Quote
NOTE: JFC/Swing is a completely platform independent set of GUI components. While this may sound like the ideal solution to the Amiga's lack of not having a full AWT available, you must understand that all GUI stuff eventually has to interface with a native operating systems. In this case, JFC/Swing extends AWT components. For this reason, mention of the JFC/Swing packages for the Amiga is merely academic and will not actually work.


I'd guess JAmiga is the most advanced Java there is for miggy.

Quote
I was generally talking about Java, not specifically about these old ports.

Generally speaking amiga has no Java.
 

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #27 on: September 21, 2007, 10:30:01 AM »
Generally speaking amiga has no Java.
-------------

Really, man, i give up on you.

I asked about Java being ported to AROS, i asked about what possibilities there are with existing Amiga ports of the JVM with AROS.

I never talked about using any GUI related stuff firsthand, not about AWT and not about the Swing libraries.

Most of the stuff i encountered in Java development over the last years wasn't even Gui related, but of the server, security, Servlet, RMI type of applications. I think most people are not into Java created GUIs anyway.

Having a JVM port being able to execute thousands of console only apps would be fair enough for a start, don't you think so?
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #28 on: September 21, 2007, 10:43:44 AM »
@Steril707

Even JAmiga just can't run many of the complex apps. Well, if you don't believe me, just try it. Just trying to point out that amiga java is far from being complete.

Quote
the server, security, Servlet, RMI type of applications

Personally I don't think AROS is very suitable for most of these.