Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?  (Read 733 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dfreniche

800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« on: February 19, 2007, 02:19:52 PM »
Hi!. An Amiga newbie needs help! I've got an A1200 with Blizzard expansion (68030) and 32 MB. I'm planning do to some C programming (gcc + CubicIDE). And I need 800x600, but I only managed to get 640x400 (or so, I don't remember now)
Do I need a screen controller? (excuse me if don't use the right terminology, you know, controller , device, kernel mod, ...:-?). In aminet, where?
Or it's simply impossible to get 800x600 without a VGA card for Amiga or a better monitor?
Thanks in advance.
A1200D(Blizzard 68030,32MB,Wifi,IdeFix,CDROM), A1200D(Apollo 68030,8MB),A600,A500
I maintain a site on everything, Amiga too (in Spanish)
Regards to all amiga fans!   :-)
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2007, 02:32:47 PM »
It's not possible.

You can get 800x600 interlaced with VGA monitor, however.
 

Offline balrogsoft

Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2007, 02:35:36 PM »
Balrog Software · http://www.amigaskool.net
Mac Mini G4 1,5ghz · MorphOS 2.7 · Ati Radeon 9200 64Mb · 1 Gb RAM · 80 GB HD
Efika · MorphOS 2.7 · Ati Radeon 9250 128Mb · 120 Gb WD HD
Amiga 1200T · OS 3.9 · Voodoo3 · Blizzard 603e/240mhz 060/50mhz · 98 Mb RAM · 40 GB HD
Amiga 600 · OS 3.1 · ACA 630/25mhz 32 Mb RAM · 4Gb CF
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2007, 02:44:34 PM »
@balrogsoft

None of which are possible with 1084S.
 

Offline balrogsoft

Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2007, 02:52:21 PM »
Quote
None of which are possible with 1084S.


I'm not sure if these monitors works with a 1084S monitor, but i remember that some years ago i used an Euro monitor, and worked on my 1084 monitor, maybe it was smaller than 800x600 but it worked.

Searching 1084 on aminet i found this:

OverRes - Get 724x566 on a standard Amiga with CM8833II/1084s monitor
Balrog Software · http://www.amigaskool.net
Mac Mini G4 1,5ghz · MorphOS 2.7 · Ati Radeon 9200 64Mb · 1 Gb RAM · 80 GB HD
Efika · MorphOS 2.7 · Ati Radeon 9250 128Mb · 120 Gb WD HD
Amiga 1200T · OS 3.9 · Voodoo3 · Blizzard 603e/240mhz 060/50mhz · 98 Mb RAM · 40 GB HD
Amiga 600 · OS 3.1 · ACA 630/25mhz 32 Mb RAM · 4Gb CF
 

Offline Tomas

Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2007, 02:59:16 PM »
Quote
None of which are possible with 1084S.

I thought it took any pal resolutions? Though it wont be good looking if it works...
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2007, 03:07:54 PM »
@Tomas

DblPAL != PAL

DblPAL requires a multisync monitor. 1084S isn't one.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2007, 03:10:27 PM »
@balrogsoft
Quote
I'm not sure if these monitors works with a 1084S monitor

They most definitely do not.

"OverRes" is bog standard overscan. Okay, it helps a bit.
 

Offline dfreniche

Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2007, 10:00:30 AM »
Thanks, Piru.
I will try in a couple days these drivers on my 1084s. If I'm successful, I'll leave a post.
A1200D(Blizzard 68030,32MB,Wifi,IdeFix,CDROM), A1200D(Apollo 68030,8MB),A600,A500
I maintain a site on everything, Amiga too (in Spanish)
Regards to all amiga fans!   :-)
 

Offline dfreniche

Re: 800x600 on A1200 with 1084S?
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2007, 10:03:01 AM »
Thanks a lot! I'll try this in a couple days.
A1200D(Blizzard 68030,32MB,Wifi,IdeFix,CDROM), A1200D(Apollo 68030,8MB),A600,A500
I maintain a site on everything, Amiga too (in Spanish)
Regards to all amiga fans!   :-)