Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Amithlon question  (Read 8173 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cecilia

  • Amiga Snob
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 4875
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 1
    • http://cecilia.sawneybean.com/
Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2006, 09:37:32 PM »
the no CARB diet- no Cheney, Ashcroft, Rumsfeld or Bush.
IFX CD Tutorial
 

Offline Amigamia

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2006, 11:19:22 PM »
Thanks everyone!!

I have also been thinking of putting up a website to centralize all the efforts still going on this powerfull emulator. It's a shame that it had to end like that but maybe   we can still focus on it and revive it.
Check out  AROSWORLD.ORG
 

Offline rdolores

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2006, 02:18:56 AM »
Amigamia,

Are you near the DC Metro area? I'm in Silver Spring, MD. Let me know if you need some help building an Amithlon machine. I have built several from free computers I've picked up.

I'm also interested in setting up a site for Amithlon support from my experience with the product.

I believe it's probably the best of the modern Amigas (Amithlon (OS3.9), AmigasOne (OS4), Pegasos (MorphOS)).

Like the other modern Amigas, Amithlon does not support the old custom chips directly. It uses retargetable graphics (P96) and audio (AHI).

But it is more compatible with most Amiga software since it can run 68k code using very low-level JIT emulation. OS4 and MorphOS must use E-UAE since they are PPC native.

Also, hardware is plentiful and cheap. People are getting rid of their 5/6 year old computers which are ideal for building Amithlons.

And finally, you can install Amithlon on much faster machines. Both the AmigaOnes and Pegasos machines are already several years old. As Gary Colville, and perhaps others, develop newer kernals, it can support newer hardware that the others can't.

A1000 - 2 Floppies, 2 MB RAM, OS 1.0-1.3
A500 - 170 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, OS 1.3/2.04
A2000 - 350 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 2.04
A2500 - 540 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 3.9
A1200 - 20 GB HD, 64 MB RAM, Blizzard IV
Amithlon - 49 GB HD, 768 MB RAM, PIII-1G
AROS - 80 GB HD, 2 GB RAM, P4-3.2GHz
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2006, 02:28:27 AM »
@rdolores
Quote
But it is more compatible with most Amiga software since it can run 68k code using very low-level JIT emulation. OS4 and MorphOS must use E-UAE since they are PPC native.

I don't know where you're getting these ideas from, but MorphOS has both static and JIT 68k emulation built-in. You don't need to use E-UAE to run Amiga applications.

My understanding is that the latest OS4 prerelease has JIT now, too. It had static emulation from the first public prerelease.
 

Offline rdolores

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2006, 02:41:56 AM »
Thanks for the correction. It is interesting to note that the guy who made JIT was Bernd Meyer. His JIT code has not only been used for 680x0 emulation for the Amiga on UAE (WinUAE, E-UAE, etc.), MorphOS and OS4, but also for the BasiliskII Mac emulator.

This is the same Bernd Meyer who created Amithlon along with Harald Frank.

Quote

Piru wrote:
@rdolores
Quote
But it is more compatible with most Amiga software since it can run 68k code using very low-level JIT emulation. OS4 and MorphOS must use E-UAE since they are PPC native.

I don't know where you're getting these ideas from, but MorphOS has both static and JIT 68k emulation built-in. You don't need to use E-UAE to run Amiga applications.

My understanding is that the latest OS4 prerelease has JIT now, too. It had static emulation from the first public prerelease.
A1000 - 2 Floppies, 2 MB RAM, OS 1.0-1.3
A500 - 170 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, OS 1.3/2.04
A2000 - 350 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 2.04
A2500 - 540 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 3.9
A1200 - 20 GB HD, 64 MB RAM, Blizzard IV
Amithlon - 49 GB HD, 768 MB RAM, PIII-1G
AROS - 80 GB HD, 2 GB RAM, P4-3.2GHz
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2006, 02:46:23 AM »
@rdolores
Quote
It is interesting to note that the guy who made JIT was Bernd Meyer. His JIT code has not only been used for 680x0 emulation for the Amiga on UAE (WinUAE, E-UAE, etc.), MorphOS and OS4, but also for the BasiliskII Mac emulator.

Neither MorphOS or OS4 use Bernd's JIT.

MorphOS JIT (called "Trance") was written by Ralph Schmidt and Teemu Suikki. Some minor work on it has been made by other MorphOS Team members: Mark Olsen, Sigbjørn Skjæret, and myself.

OS4 JIT (called "Petunia") was written by Álmos Rajnai.
 

Offline rdolores

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2006, 02:53:48 AM »
I got this PDF some time ago. This is what I used the first time to build my Amithlon.

www.rdolores.com/amithlon/Amithlon-Guide.pdf

I used FreeDOS for the XFDISK utility. It should be a free download.

Later on I found out, you don't have to destroy your existing Windows XP partition to create an Amithlon partition.

I used Partition Magic to shrink my WinXP partition to make space for my Amithlon partion.

Then I used XFDISK on my FreeDOS diskette to create the boot partition and Amithlon partition.
Quote

JuvUK wrote:
a little off topic i know but, just how do you make amithlon hd bootable, i have tried following guides but its all a bit complicated for a newbie like me. Could anyone give me a stupid persons guide to intalling amithlon?
   thanks Juv.U.K
A1000 - 2 Floppies, 2 MB RAM, OS 1.0-1.3
A500 - 170 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, OS 1.3/2.04
A2000 - 350 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 2.04
A2500 - 540 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 3.9
A1200 - 20 GB HD, 64 MB RAM, Blizzard IV
Amithlon - 49 GB HD, 768 MB RAM, PIII-1G
AROS - 80 GB HD, 2 GB RAM, P4-3.2GHz
 

Offline rdolores

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #22 on: July 30, 2006, 02:54:52 AM »
Quote

Piru wrote:
@rdolores
Quote
It is interesting to note that the guy who made JIT was Bernd Meyer. His JIT code has not only been used for 680x0 emulation for the Amiga on UAE (WinUAE, E-UAE, etc.), MorphOS and OS4, but also for the BasiliskII Mac emulator.

Neither MorphOS or OS4 use Bernd's JIT.

MorphOS JIT (called "Trance") was written by Ralph Schmidt and Teemu Suikki. Some minor work on it has been made by other MorphOS Team members: Mark Olsen, Sigbjörn Skjæret, and myself.

OS4 JIT (called "Petunia") was written by Álmos Rajnai.


Thanks for the correction again.
A1000 - 2 Floppies, 2 MB RAM, OS 1.0-1.3
A500 - 170 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, OS 1.3/2.04
A2000 - 350 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 2.04
A2500 - 540 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 3.9
A1200 - 20 GB HD, 64 MB RAM, Blizzard IV
Amithlon - 49 GB HD, 768 MB RAM, PIII-1G
AROS - 80 GB HD, 2 GB RAM, P4-3.2GHz
 

Offline Amigamia

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2006, 02:33:03 PM »
@rdolores

Thanks for all your help!! I live in Virginia Beach VA, not too far from you. I am collecting all the info that I can and build a community website on Amithlon. Also I am trying to understand more and more how to build more drivers for more hardware and redeveloping new kernel. The key to success, among other things, for Amithlong is the availability for drivers.
Check out  AROSWORLD.ORG
 

Offline ccdnightsk

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #24 on: July 30, 2006, 11:53:56 PM »
Hi Guys!
First, my english is very bad!
I came from Germany and i use Amithlon too.
I'am a member of www.a1k.org we have also a thread of
Amithlon!
And we have a Amithlon guide too!
http://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?mode=viewthread&forum_id=10&thread=93
Now my problem:
Software on my Amithlon runs very well, but games not!
I use E-UAE68K 0.8.28 from Richard Drummond on Amithlon,
and its running very good....10min!
(Tested with PinballDreams)
Than it's going down, not a Guru, simply down.
Amithlon starts now and i hear sound from Soundcart
that's burst your ear! Not music!
I use a SoundblasterLive!-Cart with the emu1okx.audio
driver!
Any answers?
Greetings Andy
 

Offline Blinx123

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #25 on: August 02, 2006, 01:03:25 PM »
I would try another/newer Version of E-UAE or maybe the sounddriver is making it work that bad.

BTW: Ich komme auch aus Deutschland. Ihr habt mit den a1k ne echt nette Seite zusammengestellt.
Sam: \\"You crack me up little buddy\\"
Max: \\"I love you Sam\\"
 

Offline rdolores

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #26 on: August 02, 2006, 02:18:03 PM »
Richard Drummond has released a new WIP release of the great E-UAE. Check out the details and download the emulator from

http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/

It is E-UAE-0.8.29-WIP3. I've tried it and it works on my WB1.3 68000, 1 MB Chip, 8 MB Fast, setup. It has some major improvements. It's quite snappier (faster) booting up and loading folders and icons. Very stable so far too.

The only thing not working yet is the 68020 emulation, and he is working on that.

He is making great progress since 0.8.28.
A1000 - 2 Floppies, 2 MB RAM, OS 1.0-1.3
A500 - 170 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, OS 1.3/2.04
A2000 - 350 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 2.04
A2500 - 540 MB HD, 8 MB RAM, A2630, OS 3.9
A1200 - 20 GB HD, 64 MB RAM, Blizzard IV
Amithlon - 49 GB HD, 768 MB RAM, PIII-1G
AROS - 80 GB HD, 2 GB RAM, P4-3.2GHz
 

Offline monty

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #27 on: August 02, 2006, 04:52:18 PM »
Quote

Amigamia wrote:
@rdolores

... Also I am trying to understand more and more how to build more drivers for more hardware and redeveloping new kernel. The key to success, among other things, for Amithlong is the availability for drivers.



Contact Gary Colville on http://groups.yahoo.com/group/amithlonopen

He's working on an updated kernel for amithlon (the kernel is open source, BTW), which should be due out in September.




 

Offline bhoggett

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #28 on: August 02, 2006, 05:20:09 PM »
Just a note to those wanting to join the group (which you must if you want to post a question there):

- You need to have your membership approved (to keep out the spam bots) so you may need to wait a day or two for me to get round to it. It also helps a great deal if you leave a relevent message with your application - something to indicate you are a real person interested in Amithlon and not a bot leaving generic messages like "I wast to join this great group". Mentioning Amigas usually does the trick.
Bill Hoggett
 

Offline motorollin

Re: Amithlon question
« Reply #29 on: August 02, 2006, 05:29:10 PM »
Hmmm, I'm becoming intrigued by Amithlon :-)

(Amithlon + E-UAE) > (AROS + E-UAE) ???

Does anyone know if it is possible to install Amithlon inside Parallels Desktop (virtualisation software)? I would like to try it out but don't have a PC, only my MacBook.

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10