Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Tomb raider for the Amiga?  (Read 6166 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nickman

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2006, 10:59:00 AM »
I had a version of the tomb raider port ages ago. I remeber it was dog slow on my 030/50 Mhz but it worked.

I think there was 2 versions in the archive. One for 020 and one for 040.

Sorry to say i don't have it anymore. It was lost in the big HD krash of 99' :-D

It was released around the same time as the first illeagal Quake 1 port if remember correct.
----
Amiga1200T
Mediator/Voodoo3 3000/100mbit NIC/SB128
Blizzppc 603e 210Mhz 040 25Mhz, 192 mb ram,Bvision
SCSI Ultra320 74GB HD,4x Burner,MO drive.
 

Offline KThunder

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2006, 10:39:41 PM »
piru

source code is actually a very small part of porting any software but especially games. it isnt as simple as just recomiling the source. it almost always has to be at least partially rewritten.
the original linux executable (which became official after testing etc) can be found on several sites. it was not developed by the original developer.
there are lots of games which have been "ported" or "reimplemented" or whatever you want to call it from doom, to quake.
what exactly would be your definition of a port or reimplementation. a program which allows a game to be played on non-original hardware without emulation would be my definition.
Oh yeah?!?
Well your stupid bit is set,
and its read only!
(my best geek putdown)
 

Offline Hyperspeed

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #17 on: March 15, 2006, 11:31:48 PM »
There's an '060 demo on Aminet with a nice 3D Tombraider style engine.

It shows a woman walking around a 3D world and jumping from a waterfall etc.

I think it was by TBL but I can't remember what it was called.

All I remember was that the '060 code used some program made by some guy called Harry Sintonen...

:-D
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2006, 11:47:46 PM »
@Hyperspeed

Actually it's Rise by Mellow Chips

BTW: Many of the people involved in Mellow Chips (and other finnish demogroups) now form  Remedy Entertainment (Max Payne), Futuremark (3D Mark) and other new media companies.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2006, 11:59:20 PM »
@KThunder

Well, I don't agree with your definitions.

For me it is not porting if there is no original source code available.

Quote
source code is actually a very small part of porting any software but especially games.

It depends on the project. Unfortunately game programmers rarely consider portability.

Quote
it isnt as simple as just recomiling the source. it almost always has to be at least partially rewritten.

Yes.

Quote
there are lots of games which have been "ported" or "reimplemented" or whatever you want to call it from doom, to quake.

These (Doom, Quake I, Quake II, Quake III) were ported, from GPL or stolen source code (For example: Some early amiga Quake ports were based on stolen source code).

Quote
what exactly would be your definition of a port or reimplementation.

Port = Write code modifying original source code, or using the original source code as a reference.

Reimplementation = Write code by having no original source code available. Often involves reverse engineering the original binaries and datafile formats.
 

Offline Hyperspeed

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2006, 12:21:10 AM »
Quote
by Piru:
Actually it's Rise by Mellow Chips


That's it!

http://main.aminet.net/demo/aga/trsi-rse.lha

:-)

Man, if they had gotten some sort of 3D game out of that it would have been cool.

Another good demo was Magia by TBL:
http://it.aminet.net/pub/aminet/demo/aga/tbl-magia.lha

Anyway, Heretic 2 can be viewed from a 3rd person view can't it?
 

Offline InTheSand

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2006, 10:28:42 AM »
Rise is good! One of my favourite AGA demos...

I don't recall seeing Magica, will download it now!

 - Ali
 

Offline HardStep

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2006, 08:07:19 AM »
There definitely was some news about Tombrider for Amiga on Czech Amiga News. Remember reading about it sometime in 1999 or 2000. There was no link to download anything. It was supposed to run on 040 and had 1x1 and 2x2 modes.
A1200/Blizzard1260+SCSI Mediator-Voodoo3-Radeon9250
A1200/ACA1233-55
A1200/ACA1231-42
A500
CD32
MOS3.7 registered, Mac Mini+IBook G4
 

Offline Mr_Capehill

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2006, 09:40:49 AM »
Quote

Piru wrote:
@KThunder

Well, I don't agree with your definitions.

For me it is not porting if there is no original source code available.

Quote
source code is actually a very small part of porting any software but especially games.

It depends on the project. Unfortunately game programmers rarely consider portability.


Agreed. Porting and remaking/reimplementing are quite different matters.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porting

However, portability wasn't good in the past, probably due to heavy optimization and tailoring the game source for each platform. But today it's different. Most big companies work with PCs and consoles simultaneously and most game middleware is also platform agnostic.
 

Offline pVC

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2006, 10:55:01 AM »
If you liked Rise, you should also see the Lapsuus by Maturefurk. Although it would be surprise if someone hasn't seen it already ;) It's made by same people and based on same engine... It won the combined (PC+Amiga) demo compo at Assembly 2001. 060/AGA production beated all those 3D accelerated PC prods... that was the day ;)

http://ada.untergrund.net/showdemo.php?demoid=130
Daily MorphOS user and Amiga active.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2006, 11:05:16 AM »
@pVC

http://asm2001.mene.net/raportti/palkinnot_03/full_13.jpg

"Amiga Rulez!" (That's RJ Mical there, if anyone is wondering ;-))

Interview with Saku / Maturefurk
 

Offline pVC

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #26 on: March 25, 2006, 02:38:55 PM »
Great picture :)
Daily MorphOS user and Amiga active.
 

Offline skilgannon

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #27 on: April 04, 2006, 07:23:42 PM »
Of course Tomb Raider exists on the Amiga - it came out for the Amiga in the first place and was called Rick Dangerous - LOL.  Pitty it wasn't Racquel Dangerous with great graphics and a nice pair of t... though :o)
I\'m an IK+ championship winning, goal scoring superstar hero ;)


C= Amiga 600, 3.1 ROM with ACA630, 2mb Chip, CF IDE, Easynet Wifi (once it all arrives!)
CD32; Commodore SX64; C64c, Sinclair QL; Sinclair Spectrum+; Sinclair ZX81; PS3; XBOX 360; Sega Saturn; Wii; NDS; PSP.
 

Offline Nickman

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2006, 09:39:26 PM »
Just found an old backup cd with this on ;)

Quote

Short:    Amiga Tomb Raider
Uploader: Team Happy
Type:     game/misc

Team Happy present Amiga Tomb Raider  Nov '97

At last! The *only* version of the Amiga
replacement engine for the PC version of Tomb raider!

Firstly. it is for real BUT you are gonna need one
hell of a machine to get it working on!

These are the specs:

040 Processor
AGA or CyberGraphix graphic card
PowerPC Processor
8 Megs Minimum Fast RAM (Still needs 2 MEGS CHIP RAM)

Also of course you need a PC version of Tomb Raider!

Credits:
********

Main Code: Lomas, Jean, Andrew

Display Drivers: Sam, Liz

Libs: Suki


The file is called: AMITOMBRAIDER.LHA
----
Amiga1200T
Mediator/Voodoo3 3000/100mbit NIC/SB128
Blizzppc 603e 210Mhz 040 25Mhz, 192 mb ram,Bvision
SCSI Ultra320 74GB HD,4x Burner,MO drive.
 

Offline motorollin

Re: Tomb raider for the Amiga?
« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2006, 09:47:15 PM »
I'd love to give this a try on my A1200. Any chance you could email me the archive?

--
moto

Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10