Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Wing Commander  (Read 1356 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nlead

Wing Commander
« on: March 04, 2006, 01:41:37 PM »
Dont suppose anyone could do me a copy of Wing Commander Disk 2.  I bought this game in mint condition from ebay although Disk 2 doesnt work!  How annoying.  I would be really grateful if someone could do me a copy.

 
Thanks,
Nick

**A1200 + Blizzard 1220/4**
 

Offline foleyjo

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2006, 02:25:36 PM »
Search for the website Amiga Island and download it from there.
 

Offline Amigaz

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2006, 02:29:35 PM »
Quote

nlead wrote:
Dont suppose anyone could do me a copy of Wing Commander Disk 2.  I bought this game in mint condition from ebay although Disk 2 doesnt work!  How annoying.  I would be really grateful if someone could do me a copy.

 


check your pm
 

Offline Mike_UK

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2006, 02:36:15 PM »
Do you have a PC-Link set-up to make a floppy from a ADF?
just the A1000 left! and up for sale...email!
 

Offline skilgannon

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2006, 07:57:03 AM »
You should be able to make a floppy from the adf using adf2disk software.  Need single sided disks for that to work though...
I\'m an IK+ championship winning, goal scoring superstar hero ;)


C= Amiga 600, 3.1 ROM with ACA630, 2mb Chip, CF IDE, Easynet Wifi (once it all arrives!)
CD32; Commodore SX64; C64c, Sinclair QL; Sinclair Spectrum+; Sinclair ZX81; PS3; XBOX 360; Sega Saturn; Wii; NDS; PSP.
 

Offline Morax

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2006, 12:45:38 AM »
Correction: A standard amiga uses double-sided double-density disks (880KB or 720KB in MS-DOS), but those are only half the size of a double-sided high-density disk (1,66MB or 1,44MB in MS-DOS)
-Nothing to see here, move along!-
 

Offline Bandis

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2006, 02:11:33 AM »
Hi

Just want to say, an awsome game from an awsome time.

And does anyone know if the WC secret mission disks ever existed for amiga?

regards
Bandaren
 

Offline Morax

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2006, 03:21:39 AM »
Good question, I would like to know that as well! At least they must have been planned for it, because you can't only select them from the main screen, there is even a way to load them directly via the main icon/command line (I don't know how exactly though anymore). Of course it doesn't work, only the option is implemented.
And I know they also aren't included on the CD32 cd's (which is the best Amiga-version, provided when you use the patch to use it on a "normal" AGA-machine).
-Nothing to see here, move along!-
 

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2006, 05:05:01 AM »
In what way is the CD32 version different? Some FMV or something?

Offline Lemmink

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2006, 06:36:09 AM »
The mainadvantage is, that it is the AGA Version, it looks a lot better in 256 colors then it does in 16 colors.
There are also some additional soundFX on the cutscenes ( like a roar when the ship flies by when set to autopilot, or a clack sound when the hood of you fighter closes after you climbed in.)
Not really interesting, but it`s there.
http://www.lemmink.joice.net
 

Offline Morax

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2006, 01:29:47 PM »
AND it's quite playable on a standard unexpanded A1200  :-)
-Nothing to see here, move along!-
 

Offline amigite

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2006, 03:43:31 PM »
One of the things we really need in new software is a good flight simulator.  If you are old enough to remember Sub-Logic and other simulator makers sold a lot of C-64s and Amiga's.  I hope someone will port one of the realistic scenery simulators for our OS4.
 

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2006, 06:41:47 PM »
Ah, cool. I never knew Wing Commander was made into an AGA incarnation.

Offline Morax

Re: Wing Commander
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2006, 12:42:21 PM »
So the CD32 version is probably the best Wing Commander 1, aside from the version released on the "Kilrathi Saga" compilation for the PC (which has enhanced audio and streaming music, like in WC4)

But what about Super Wing Commander (Mac)? How much does it differ from the rest?
-Nothing to see here, move along!-