Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: ...and it just gets better.  (Read 820 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline XDelusion

...and it just gets better.
« on: June 23, 2005, 04:53:50 AM »
Now my 1200 is starting to just shut down when ever it pleases, or rather locks up, or goes to a grey screen.

This always happens when it is reading from a floppy, but sometimes it does not do this while reading from a floppy. It's like windows, unpredictable.
 Also when I read files from a CD, it says they are not there, yet if I pop in my CD to my PC, they read just fine.

Oh and half the time when I turn it on or reboot, I have to keep soft booting for it to come on. I thought my 250 Watt power pack would fix all of this but no.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline B00tDisk

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 1670
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.thedelversdungeon.com
Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2005, 05:21:56 AM »
Strip it down to nothing.  Motherboard, native chipset, no additional RAM, zip.

Assuming it will run in a stable fashion like this, start reconnecting components, one at a time.  Start with the simple gear first - trapdoor acellerator card 1st, and work outward from there.  
Back away from the EU-SSR!
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2005, 05:23:53 AM »
Been through all that.

Here is my new find. If I make one 1gb partition and move it all the way to the end of the drive, reboot, then try to format it, it just exits the format screen right away!
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline B00tDisk

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 1670
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.thedelversdungeon.com
Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2005, 05:27:55 AM »
Quote

XDelusion wrote:
Been through all that.

Here is my new find. If I make one 1gb partition and move it all the way to the end of the drive, reboot, then try to format it, it just exits the format screen right away!


Have you gone the re-seat chips route?

I got an A1200 back from UPS years ago (long, long story) and the internal HD had come loose and smacked things around pretty badly.  Once I got it unpacked and reseated everything inside it worked flawlessly.
Back away from the EU-SSR!
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2005, 05:42:25 AM »
yep, infact I just installed 3.1 kickstarts in here, but it was doing the same thing before the Kickstart upgrade.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline Brian

Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2005, 05:54:52 AM »
How big is your harddrive? Have you checked so it gets enough power? An A1200 PSU (23-25W) isn't enough to do any expansions and even an A500 PSU (50W) has it's limits.

Offline B00tDisk

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 1670
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.thedelversdungeon.com
Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2005, 06:14:30 AM »
Quote

XDelusion wrote:
yep, infact I just installed 3.1 kickstarts in here, but it was doing the same thing before the Kickstart upgrade.


Okay then.  It isn't a bad chip connection.  I'm assuming that since you said "I've been down that route" in regards to stripping the system to the motherboard and working up and out, that the lockups happened when it was just a bare board?  Or no?
Back away from the EU-SSR!
 

Offline amiga4001

Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2005, 06:39:01 AM »
Hdtoolbox does the same thing here sometimes.
Just try it a multtiple times till it asks for a save/reboot.
As for the rebooting of your machine it is either a loose contact(chip/cable) or a bad harddisk or still a psu problem.
What exactly are you using to power it?(AT?)
Maybe there is an problem in the powerplug on the mobo?
 

Offline Malkier

Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2005, 09:28:46 AM »
Quote
XDelusion wrote:
This always happens when it is reading from a floppy, but sometimes it does not do this while reading from a floppy.

This is exactly what happens to my A1200 when i plug in a floppy in the drive and it starts reading/writing. People have told me this is a PSU problem but since you use a 250W PSU i start to questioning this. I am using an A600 PSU and it has worked nicely up till about a year ago. I seldom use the floppy though but when I do I mainly copy files to RAM: first and they move them to the floppy (so that the HD and floppy aren't being used simultaneously).

So if you find a solution to this problem I am also interested to know how you solved it. My current solution though is UAE ;/

//Malkier
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2005, 12:00:57 PM »
I dunno. I'm not going the UAE route till UAE gets caught up on the non-winblows side of things. I'm thinking perhaps it is because of my hard drive, i'll replace that later and see, but for now I must rest, been up all night and I'm ready to tear my hair out.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline Framiga

Re: ...and it just gets better.
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2005, 12:06:20 PM »
IIRC you have just installed AmigaOS3.9, correct?

Have you patched it with BB1 and BB2?

EDIT- ops . . . or you were attempting to install it? don't remember