Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: A1 + MOL + VPC  (Read 1398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Guest
A1 + MOL + VPC
« on: February 20, 2003, 12:53:56 PM »
Can any A1/Peg owners on here let me know if they have had any sucess in running Virtual PC under Mac-on-Linux? What is performance like, any installation problems?  I'll buy either board next month if it works.  (Might even buy both boards, due for a nice criminal injuries pay out in the next couple of weeks)

Cheers,
Nik

Nik
 

Offline poweramiga2002

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2003, 12:58:45 PM »
that is a good question was thinking about this myself is it possible or not ?
 

Offline Acill

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2003, 01:12:55 PM »
Im sure it will work, but my question is why? If you want to run windows or PC applications why not just go buy a budget priced PC? The money you would spend on the A1, MacOS, and VPC with windows included is far more then a cheap PC,
Proud Retired Navy Chief!

A4000T - CSPPC - Mediator
Powerbook G4 15", 17"
Powermac G5 2GHZ
AmigaOne X5000
Need Amiga recap or other services in the US? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com and take a look or on facebook at http://facebook.com/acillclassics
 

Offline J

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2003, 01:13:30 PM »

MacOS certainly runs at very acceptable speeds on a G3. In fact, I'm only running at 450Mhz at the moment and it's still very good.

I haven't tried VPC yet but is on the to do list for me.

BTW, I have no benchmarks, just a 'feel'  :-)  

J
 

Offline poweramiga2002

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2003, 01:18:52 PM »
Its not the point would love to rub it into peecee users that we can at least keep up with them but on our terms i have all the progs needed as i run vpc on my ibook and its not too bad on that
 

  • Guest
Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2003, 01:19:29 PM »
I'm giving the PC to the missus when I buy the A1/Peg. Condition of buying it. You know how it is!
 

Offline poweramiga2002

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2003, 01:25:31 PM »
Im gladly handing over the ibook to the misses wouldent want her using the A1 would spoil her too much
 

  • Guest
Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2003, 01:19:37 AM »
Nobody tried it???????
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 636
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2003, 01:52:46 AM »
I think it would work. I have a beige G3 minitower macintosh that has been upgraded to a G4. It is running at 400MHz. VPC runs Windows XP okay but you must understand that VPC doesn't offer any graphically accelerated video modes. I suppose that doesn't matter because MOL doesn't either.

If you can settle for Windows98 I think you could perform a decent amount of work on it with only minor annoyance. Just understand that you cannot, even with a real Mac using VPC, ever run any games requiring Direct3D hardware. The VPC environment emulates only a S3 Trio32/64 chipset with 4MB of RAM.

If that is okay then I am pretty sure you will achieve what you want.
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline Bodie

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2003, 02:24:48 AM »
I think those of us who want PC emulation are being realistic in the sense that we want to use programs such as Office (at least until good Amiga alternatives emerge).
 

Offline yoodoo

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2003, 10:29:29 AM »
Goodness knows why anyone would use MS Office unless it was bought for them by their company.

OpenOfficeOrg is file-compatible with MS Office, has all of the important features and most of the unimportant ones. It runs on Wintel, Mac, Linux (x86 and PPC) and is free.

The only real missing feature is a database with visual reports comparable to those in Access, but if you pay the nominal fee for SunOffice, you get the Adabas database.

It's certainly about time people stopped paying £100+ for the privelege of reading bloated MS-Doc files.
 

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2003, 03:59:05 PM »
Paying for M$ products? Huh? ;-)

Offline Desler

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2003, 05:12:46 PM »
There are many other reasons to run a win emu than just to use office. There are a lot of fx reasearch programs that are written for windows only  :-( not many of those needs an ultra faaast pc and are therefore perfect suited for an emulation.
I would consider buying a good x86 emulator even if it cost as much as a outdated pc. Why ?? space and time considerations. Who wants to connect a bunch of cables, power up a second computer, swap files between them one way or another, when you just as well could have a screen running win95 behind you WB screen?
The horse is a fierce predatory animal!!!
 

Offline yoodoo

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2003, 11:42:54 AM »
I've just successfully installed Windows 98 on my A1G3 using the Bochs emulator.

No real problems, although it is very slow.  The installation worked first time, although it's only set up to use a hard drive image atm, so reading/writing to disk is slow.

I might try win95/DOS over the next few days to see if speed can get up to acceptable levels,but this might offer a slightly more reliable x86 emulation than running VPC on top of MOL.

 

Offline Desler

Re: A1 + MOL + VPC
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2003, 01:04:57 PM »
@Yoodoo
It was my understanding that Bochs was PAINFULLY slow. How is your take on this? Is it ok if you just want to run fx office?
The horse is a fierce predatory animal!!!