Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: A500 problems  (Read 1135 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Guest
A500 problems
« on: October 30, 2002, 12:48:00 AM »
Hi

I have just been given 2 A500's and the problem is that they both have problems.

The one has a black and white output, and have tried the A520 modulator with the other one  here, but same out put with RF and composite.

The other just powers up and the power light flashes stedily with no screen output or drive activity.  What I want to try to do is make the best of the 2 A500's into one working uit if possible.  Any help is appreciated.  Anthony
 

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: A500 problems
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2002, 02:03:10 AM »
In regard to the B/W problem: you're not using an NTSC A500 on a PAL only display, are you? :-D

  • Guest
Re: A500 problems
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2002, 05:24:33 PM »
The person who give them to me used to use them regular a couple of years ago, and he was having a clear out.  So I am using a PAL 500 with Pal TV.  Thanks.

Anthony
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: A500 problems
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2002, 08:58:47 PM »
Are you sure that the TV isn't at fault or that the signal isn't tuned in correctly?
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: A500 problems
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2002, 09:01:08 PM »
I had a similar problem with an old C64 of mine which only gave me a black and white output.  I fixed the problem by getting rid of my black and white TV and connecting it to a colour one.  Is it possible that this solution may solve your problem?  ;-)
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

  • Guest
Re: A500 problems
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2002, 09:53:02 PM »
Hi

No, I tried the Composite out as well as the RF lead.  Though I got hold of an RGB Scart Lead and connected to the scart on the TV and the amiga worked sweet in colour, so I guess the prob must be in the modulator then, just got to work out the dead amiga problem now.  Thanks again

Anthony
 

Offline Desler

Re: A500 problems
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2002, 10:43:38 PM »
OK. This may a silly suggestion but here goes: First of all be sure that all your cables are plugged in correctly  :roll: yeah I know. But just to be sure. If this is not the problem, try looking at the end of the modulator. Theres a litle switch. Try switching it. I remember when I switched this it made my screen go b/w and when I switched back the colours returned
The horse is a fierce predatory animal!!!