Amiga.org

Operating System Specific Discussions => AROS Research Operating System => Topic started by: OlafS3 on March 13, 2020, 01:18:23 AM

Title: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 13, 2020, 01:18:23 AM
Currently Aros is tested and optimized on V4 Standalone. Base is my new distribution that is currently in development. It is creating look and feel of 3.1

short impression:
http://www.aros-platform.de/Aros_31.png

Network, RTG and SD-Card support work

It is based on magellan and views/plays many formats like mp3, wave, mods and many graphic formats.

It is currently in testing. Reports are here:
http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=10┬Če=28491&z=BiR1jS

I am pretty sure people will like it

it will be available for V4 and UAE. V2 support will hopefully follow (IDE boot problem still there)
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: kolla on March 13, 2020, 05:36:44 AM
When you post URLs to remote sites, remember to replace & with & :)
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 16, 2020, 07:41:09 PM
one first youtube video running aros vision special V4 edition

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQOXbwmbHOQ&feature=youtu.be

it is in italian but you can see how it behaves

This is the official version for V4, I plan to offer versions for HDF and UAE of a plain 3.1 distribution.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: kolla on March 16, 2020, 11:01:07 PM
I plan to offer versions for HDF and UAE of a plain 3.1 distribution.
A simple lha file to unpack on a bootable filesystem would be nice, with all file flags set correctly etc.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 25, 2020, 11:09:34 PM
I have never tried to pack it as lha

have I to care about something?
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 25, 2020, 11:10:07 PM
this is a recent screenshot showing testing of clipboard handler

http://www.aros-platform.de/clip_handler.png
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 27, 2020, 06:58:43 PM
new impression  :)

(http://www.aros-platform.de/Impression2.png)
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 29, 2020, 11:42:15 AM
Stefano did a nice test of my new aros vision 3.1 style version on V4. Hope people will like it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q40DrZ3iziE&feature=youtu.be
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: pjhutch on March 29, 2020, 07:05:05 PM
Any chance of ClassAct or Reaction added to Aros?
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: TribbleSmasher on March 29, 2020, 07:25:54 PM
What is the toolkit anyway? Some sort of gadtools reimplementation?
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 29, 2020, 07:35:42 PM
Any chance of ClassAct or Reaction added to Aros?

reaction is copyrighted and belongs to Hyperion so no chance. Perhaps it is possible to add it by copying the reaction files but I never tried it.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 29, 2020, 07:38:06 PM
it is based on magellan that creates everything independently

the distribution includes all sort of toolkits, of course gadtools and intuition, Zune (MUI reimplementation), MUI 3.8 and others

the specific aros preferences are f.e. Zune

Many MUI-Applications work with Zune but not all. It is possible to change to MUI 3.8 and use it (as long you not need aros preferences). Then f.e. iBrowse works on it.

It also includes packer support, many viewers and players (doubleclick on file), preinstalled whdload and others
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 29, 2020, 08:04:44 PM
UAE-Version (almost identical to V4-Version) available for download

http://www.aros-platform.de/download.html
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: alexscotti on March 30, 2020, 03:54:43 AM
Is there a version we can try on real Amiga hardware?
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 30, 2020, 09:25:46 AM
would a HDF help?

I could try to create a HDF that boots with 3.1 Roms but it needs some Fastram to work. I can myself only test it on UAE
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: kolla on March 30, 2020, 03:54:03 PM
HDF is a bit cumbersome for anyone who just want to try it out - again, an archive one can pack out to a ready boot partition is the easiest.

I have downloaded your UAE distro, I can use it to make an archive and then try it on real hardware...
(just moved the V500v2 to an A500, can try it there, as well as on A1200 with Blizzard 1260)
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on March 31, 2020, 12:10:12 AM
on V2 it does not boot yet..

there is a timing problem regarding IDE. I have talked to Gunnar, perhaps there is a workaround by booting slowly that could be activated in a special rom (turtle mode). We will see
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: kolla on April 01, 2020, 10:04:54 PM
Well, I have my tricks... a floppy with LoadModule and scsi.device, same trick I use on MiST(er).

But holy moly, this is a huge archive and way beyond anything I would want to install :)

Btw - C:lha is not what you think it is - it looks like you downloaded LhA.run from Aminet, without testing it - it is a self extracting archive and not a ready to run LhA :)  For a distro, you should unpack it and copy the Lha_68k (from what I recall) to C:LhA.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on April 02, 2020, 12:44:08 PM
hello Kolla

we just try to identify the problem why aros not runs on V2

you said same trick as on mist

how exactly do you make aros running on V2? Perhaps it helps to identify the problematic part

is it running as responsive as on V2? And thanks for the hint with lha... I will look at it

BTW the archive is blown up by docs (for legal reasons, extras/docs can be deleted). The HDF also is only partly needed and empty. Really needed are 175 MB.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: kolla on April 04, 2020, 12:10:35 PM
hello Kolla

we just try to identify the problem why aros not runs on V2

you said same trick as on mist

how exactly do you make aros running on V2? Perhaps it helps to identify the problematic part

is it running as responsive as on V2?

Not sure I understand your last question - is AROS running as responsive on V2 as on V2?? Or do you mean MiSTer?

The "trick", as I wrote, to use a floppy (or in case of Minimig/MiST/MiSTer, a floppy image) that has LoadModule and a genuine AmigaOS scsi.device on it. Once AROS kickstart is loaded, boot from this floppy, and use LoadModule to load the genuine AmigaOS scsi.device, and presto... suddenly AROS sees the IDE disk and can boot from partitions.

This worked a couple of years ago on the V600, but with current AROS 68k "nightly" build, the AROSBootStrap on the boot floppy fails 8000 000B on all systems I have tried, regardless of FPU is present or not, including the Vampire cards and also with FS-UAE. I found an old AROS boot floppy that used to work in 2017, but with current Apollo Core, it just puts up a gray screen on the native RGB output, so I don't know what has happened. Floppy drive is active though, and it appears to boot from it, but it doesn't reboot, which indicates that something doesn't work with the LoadModule either currently...  so, meh.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: TribbleSmasher on April 04, 2020, 12:24:17 PM
I'm playing around with the image in UAE right now.
It is really not easy to make an LHA archive out of it, as it is massivly bloated atm.
The C directory alone holds more than 500 files, audio samples and what not. I keep digging... ;)
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on April 04, 2020, 12:57:22 PM
you can delete docs in extras directory (only for UAE download)

it is only included for legal reasons but not needed

then it is only 175 MB
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: TribbleSmasher on April 04, 2020, 12:59:48 PM
I tried to dragndrop copy the System to the empty Work partition, but not everything got copied correctly, like icons have different sizes.

And DOpus refuses to change screen resolution.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on April 04, 2020, 01:03:14 PM
no that should work. Change screen resolution, save it and reboot
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: TribbleSmasher on April 04, 2020, 01:27:14 PM
I also deleted additional sounds again from /Devs.. and everything big in C requiring ixemul and some weird players that just crash. still alot to go.
I am doing this in an 3.1.4 environment, as Aros itself doesn't seem to cope reliably with copying/deleting stuff.
Still the system folders are massive... I am down to 97MB atm.

Can i assume anything ELF is useless on 68k?
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on April 04, 2020, 01:33:21 PM
name one example for such a file...

extras can be removed (except desktops of course) if you want
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: TribbleSmasher on April 04, 2020, 01:35:25 PM
c:addr2line
c:AmiLua
c:ar
...

lots of.
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on April 04, 2020, 01:41:44 PM
Amilua is from aros contribs and is 68k
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: TribbleSmasher on April 04, 2020, 01:51:18 PM
Yeah. i don't know how this works. I believed anything ELF is PPC stuff maybe.
Anyway, wrote a little tool to find those:
Code: [Select]
UDH0:Classes/Zune/Urltext.mcp
UDH0:Classes/Zune/Urltext.mcc
UDH0:Classes/Zune/Popplaceholder.mcc
UDH0:Classes/Gadgets/bgui_treeview.gadget
UDH0:Classes/Gadgets/bgui_popbutton.gadget
UDH0:Classes/Gadgets/bgui_palette.gadget
UDH0:Classes/Gadgets/bgui_layoutgroup.gadget
UDH0:Classes/Gadgets/bgui_bar.gadget
UDH0:Classes/DataTypes/targa.datatype
UDH0:C/ZipSplit
UDH0:C/ZipNote
UDH0:C/ZipCloak
UDH0:C/Zip
UDH0:C/xadUnTar
UDH0:C/xadUnFile
UDH0:C/xadUnDisk
UDH0:C/xadList
UDH0:C/xadLibInfo
UDH0:C/xad2lha
UDH0:C/UnZipSfx
UDH0:C/UnZip
UDH0:C/ShellPlayer
UDH0:C/RexxMast
UDH0:C/rexx
UDH0:C/regina
UDH0:C/Installer
UDH0:C/fUnZip
UDH0:C/exe2arc
UDH0:C/dbwrender
UDH0:C/bcubic
UDH0:C/bc
UDH0:C/basename
UDH0:C/base64
UDH0:C/asimplex
UDH0:C/aroach
UDH0:C/ar
UDH0:C/AmiLua
UDH0:C/addr2line
UDH0:boot/amiga/aros.elf
UDH0:System/RexxMast
UDH0:Libs/xmp.library
UDH0:Libs/bgui.library

(it is my already cleaned up system:, btw.)
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: OlafS3 on April 04, 2020, 02:09:22 PM
I see lots of aros 68k files there
Title: Re: Short information about Aros and V4
Post by: TribbleSmasher on April 04, 2020, 07:29:36 PM
no that should work. Change screen resolution, save it and reboot

I had to set DOpus5 back to 'WBClone' and set the screenmode via Workbenchs preferences. When using the Environment setup in DO5, the screens size was ok, but the mode did not, so the screen did not change visibly.