Amiga.org

Amiga computer related discussion => Amiga Gaming => Topic started by: Cammy on March 12, 2013, 08:37:32 AM

Title: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Cammy on March 12, 2013, 08:37:32 AM
Strife is a first person shooter/adventure/RPG game which was released on the PC in 1996, and has finally been ported to classic Amigas by lantus360 in 2013!

You can read more about the PC version here: http://www.abandonia.com/en/games/418/Strife.html
And you can download the Amiga port here: http://aminet.net/package/game/misc/StrifeAGA-1.0

It requires an accelerated AGA Amiga and 16MB RAM.

Here it is running on a 060:
[YOUTUBE]QEXRqY27xUI[/YOUTUBE]

And here it is on my 030:
[YOUTUBE]MqqAFhESYEg[/YOUTUBE]

(http://www.abandonia.com/files/games/418/Strife_5.png) (http://www.abandonia.com/files/games/418/Strife_2.png) (http://www.abandonia.com/files/games/418/Strife_6.png)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: rvo_nl on March 12, 2013, 08:47:52 AM
That is cool, I must check it out.
 
But its based on Doom, yes? The frontend sure looks like it.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lurch on March 12, 2013, 09:27:43 AM
Looks amazing Cammy :-) Downloading now :-)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lord Aga on March 12, 2013, 09:42:26 AM
Quote from: rvo_nl;728888
That is cool, I must check it out.
 
But its based on Doom, yes? The frontend sure looks like it.

Methinks it is indeed Doom engine.
Cammy, please confirm :)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: cunnpole on March 12, 2013, 09:48:57 AM
Quote from: rvo_nl;728888
But its based on Doom, yes?


Follow the Aminet link and all your answers shall be revealed!
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Cammy on March 12, 2013, 10:20:29 AM
Yep, the original Strife game was based on a modified version of the Doom engine, but it's not a total conversion or wad for Doom, it is its own game and has quite a few differences from Doom.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Forcie on March 12, 2013, 10:36:50 AM
This is one of the best games of the raycaster era. I remember me and my pal being very excited about the RPG elements. Interestingly enough we also noticed that it "felt" very much like Doom, even though we had no magazines or websites telling us that it did indeed use id Tech 1.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: yssing on March 12, 2013, 09:05:37 PM
You can find the full PC game on abandonia
http://www.abandonia.com/en/games/418/Strife.html
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 12, 2013, 09:46:24 PM
WTF, Strife on classic Amiga?!?!?!?!?!?!?

WOW, my Linux woes just went away, this is GREAT NEWS!!!!!

Can't wait to see how well it runs cause if that runs good we have a GREAT candidate for a proper engine to work under, I.E. in relation to my abandoned Alien Breed 3D work I'd started for BOOM.

My GOD this is awesome!
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 12, 2013, 10:13:12 PM
BTW, if this advanced of a DOOM engine can run this smooth on a 50Mhz 060, then I'm sure Heretic, Hexen, and even PrBOOM could be done without issue.

For those who love Role Playing Adventures, you may want to check into Strife...

...this ain't a FPS necessarily. ;)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lurch on March 13, 2013, 03:01:57 AM
Runs smooth as butter on my 060@80MHz :-) Loving it, actually prefer it over playing Doom :-)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 13, 2013, 03:06:09 AM
Quote from: Lurch;728986
Runs smooth as butter on my 060@80MHz :-) Loving it, actually prefer it over playing Doom :-)


Mine too! I finally got BOOM up and running smoothly again as well also.

This is a great day in Amiga history! ;)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lurch on March 13, 2013, 03:10:02 AM
Quote from: XDelusion;728987
Mine too! I finally got BOOM up and running smoothly again as well also.

This is a great day in Amiga history! ;)


Amazing some of things that are happening of late, thinking I might have to tower my A1200 and go RTG :-)

Gentic species runs really fast too, just wished I could get a higher res but for some reason they have only allowed that for RTG Amiga's.... when the indivision could handle it fine.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 13, 2013, 03:24:56 AM
I just want faster IDE for the moment and I'll be happy.

I have a PPC card sitting here, installed it once to make sure it worked but I never touch it. Don't see the point without a VooDoo3 or something. Some day maybe, some day.

It is pretty amazing how well Genetic Species and Nemac IV run though!
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: AmigaClassicRule on March 13, 2013, 03:32:28 AM
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee..............................................................
I can hardly to receive my Apollo 1260 I am going to be SPENDING WEEKS on my A1200!!!!!!!! WOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: fishy_fiz on March 13, 2013, 03:45:46 AM
Quote from: Lurch;728989
Amazing some of things that are happening of late, thinking I might have to tower my A1200 and go RTG :-)

Gentic species runs really fast too, just wished I could get a higher res but for some reason they have only allowed that for RTG Amiga's.... when the indivision could handle it fine.


Indivision AGA in no way speeds things up. Its not a graphics card. It simply allows for a more flexible display with AGA. IndiECS does have a framebuffer and grafitti emulation though, and can squeeze a little more out of machines that are using it.

Back on topic however. Very cool. I'll have to check this game out. Thanks to the person behind the port (whos name I cant recall at the moment :))
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 13, 2013, 03:50:02 AM
Quote from: fishy_fiz;728994
Indivision AGA in no way speeds things up. Its not a graphics card. It simply allows for a more flexible display with AGA. IndiECS does have a framebuffer and grafitti emulation though, and can squeeze a little more out of machines that are using it.

Back on topic however. Very cool. I'll have to check this game out. Thanks to the person behind the port (whos name I cant recall at the moment :))

The Legendary Lantus! :)

I forget, did you say you had a 80Mhz 060 too?
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: F1Lupo on March 13, 2013, 04:36:44 AM
good find Cammy! will definitely check it out on my 1200 when she's up again in my new office in a month or so:knuddel:
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: fishy_fiz on March 13, 2013, 04:43:39 AM
@XDelusion

Nah, humble ol' 40mhz apollo '040 here. It is a mach131 card though, so I'll upgrade it to something along those lines eventually. Having to make do with a stock a1200 while waiting for card to be upgraded and returned has been the main reason Ive ot done it yet :)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 13, 2013, 05:02:05 AM
Quote from: fishy_fiz;728999
@XDelusion

Nah, humble ol' 40mhz apollo '040 here. It is a mach131 card though, so I'll upgrade it to something along those lines eventually. Having to make do with a stock a1200 while waiting for card to be upgraded and returned has been the main reason Ive ot done it yet :)


If you are shipping to Poland, it didn't take long for mine to arrive there, nor for him to have it done. I think 2 or maybe 3 weeks...

It's WELL worth it!
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: AmigaClassicRule on March 13, 2013, 05:11:21 AM
Quote from: fishy_fiz;728999
@XDelusion

Nah, humble ol' 40mhz apollo '040 here. It is a mach131 card though, so I'll upgrade it to something along those lines eventually. Having to make do with a stock a1200 while waiting for card to be upgraded and returned has been the main reason Ive ot done it yet :)

Hey fishy_fiz, if I waited for one year and some to upgrade my Amiga 1200 from stock to Apollo 1260 @ 80 Mhz (I sold my Blizzard 1230 for the upgrade), I am sure if you try very hard you can dish 3 weeks without using your A1200. In the end it is well worth it.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: fishy_fiz on March 13, 2013, 05:35:54 AM
Backtracking a little, but it seems to run reasonably well on '030 judging by Cammy's video. Having not played the game yet I cant say for sure, but it mostly appears a little slower vs the 060 video rather than losing much fluidity. Given the game style that shouldnt really hurt though.

It's "funny" how well these style games can run on our old 68k/custom chipset amigas, given that at the time these games were new their lack of performance played a part in people moving on to other platforms.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: rvo_nl on March 13, 2013, 08:17:15 AM
@xdelusion I dont get it, why dont you play the ppc ports of your beloved Hexen and Heretic amiga ports? They will run better than your 68k cpu can and you can still output to aga?

@lurch really? what resolution can you set genetic species to on rtg? I thought it ran 320x240 there, too. interesting. that game is the best original doom clone we have, I think.

@cammy you think there will be a ppc/rtg version? would love to run this game in 640x480
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lurch on March 13, 2013, 08:20:19 AM
Quote from: fishy_fiz;728994
Indivision IndiECS does have a framebuffer and grafitti emulation though, and can squeeze a little more out of machines that are using it.


The indi ii has a similar/same mode, a shame no drivers have been converted from the ECS to the AGA 2 :-( The RTG emulated mode with indi ECS is awesome, wish I can program I'd have a shot at a drive for the AGA2
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lurch on March 13, 2013, 08:34:54 AM
Quote from: rvo_nl;729013
@lurch really? what resolution can you set genetic species to on rtg? I thought it ran 320x240 there, too. interesting. that game is the best original doom clone we have, I think.

Default is 320-250 all I'm asking is 640-480 :-) a 060@80MHz should be ample as the 320-250 feels very quick.

The effects in that game are better than Doom, the lighting. Fire effects and more... can't get enough of it.

I've heard people pushing it to 1024x768 on another thread using RTG but not sure myself.

Back on topic Strife is running well, very quick. I'm impressed. Bring on more games :-)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: fishy_fiz on March 13, 2013, 09:02:08 AM
Ah sorry, Id forgotten about that (Indi mk2 having same sort of features as IndiECS).

I could be mistaken, but I have a vague memory of Genetic Species giving options for higher resolutions when the updates have been applied, whether being used on aga or RTG. Not really relevant, but I think textures could be upgraded to 16 or 24 bitcolor as well for RTG. Its been a while, so thake this with a grain of salt :)

Back of topic however I've,... err,... "acquired" game files, so will check out Strife after dinner :)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lord Aga on March 13, 2013, 09:07:58 AM
Sorry to hijack the thread but...
XDelusion, where is your AB3D graphics thread ? I can't find it for the life of me...
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 13, 2013, 12:11:17 PM
Quote from: Lord Aga;729021
Sorry to hijack the thread but...
XDelusion, where is your AB3D graphics thread ? I can't find it for the life of me...


This one?

http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=64387
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lord Aga on March 13, 2013, 02:09:17 PM
Yes, that one :)
Thanks !
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Lurch on March 13, 2013, 06:02:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8eQHhT8Afw4 :-)

My crappy camera and first attempt at a video. Hopefully I'll get better at it :-)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: TheDaddy on March 13, 2013, 08:13:24 PM
Good job! ;)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: AmigaClassicRule on March 13, 2013, 09:49:08 PM
:elvis:
Quote from: Lurch;729043
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8eQHhT8Afw4 :-)
 
My crappy camera and first attempt at a video. Hopefully I'll get better at it :-)

 
LOL!!! THIS IS EXACTLY THE SAME CONFIGURATION AS MY A1200, 100% the same!!! That means it will perform this good in my Amiga 1200 when I play it!!!! Hehehe
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: yssing on March 13, 2013, 10:01:11 PM
It runs perfectly on my A1200, crashes on my SAM440.

It seems like a really great game.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 13, 2013, 10:21:36 PM
Quote from: yssing;729081
It runs perfectly on my A1200, crashes on my SAM440.

It seems like a really great game.

Yes, it requires Paula and AGA.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: yssing on March 13, 2013, 10:54:07 PM
Yeah I read that, I just had to try any way :)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 13, 2013, 11:05:41 PM
I bet you would have crapped if it worked hugh? :)

No reason Chocolate Strife can't be ported to MorphOS, OS4, and AROS though.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: lantus360 on March 15, 2013, 08:07:43 PM
glad you guys are enjoying Strife :)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: XDelusion on March 15, 2013, 08:36:20 PM
Quote from: lantus360;729320
glad you guys are enjoying Strife :)



Ya man, and thanks for porting it!
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: saimon69 on March 15, 2013, 10:27:58 PM
@cammy

Can you tell Lantus360 to check the portability of this open title?
https://www.srb2.org/ uses doom engine to create an open 3d sonic game, might be interesting;)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: Cammy on March 16, 2013, 01:49:49 AM
@saimon69

Okay, but I really don't like to bother people with requests, some coders have a tendency to get the ****s and abandon the Amiga scene when they feel too much pressure, and I've already posted too much about other open source games that could be ported.

@lantus360

Would it be to much to ask if you have some spare time, would you like to check the portability of this other open source game: https://www.srb2.org/

I'm sorry if I'm starting to bother you.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: lantus360 on March 16, 2013, 02:04:32 AM
Sorry I don't do requests.
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: NovaCoder on March 19, 2013, 12:03:12 AM
Runs very nicely on my 1260, well done :)

Doesn't seem to slow down, even in the open areas.


Strife AGA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9d90Y0bokHM)
Title: Re: New AGA game: Strife!
Post by: cyclinder on June 24, 2014, 02:41:31 AM
Hi Cammy.

 It is cc4 - jamespond the friend of fishy_fis, we have talked in IRC in Freenode and in EFNet.

 I have an A600 PSU that I can post to you. I don't want any money.

 E-mail me your postage details if you want at saido@freemail.gr so I can post you it.