Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Portable Amiga anyone??  (Read 10695 times)

Description:

Offline picmanTopic starter

• Show only replies by picman
Portable Amiga anyone??
« on: December 28, 2009, 11:14:51 PM »
Hi , I new here (first post) so hi to everyone.

I am considering developing a small compact and cheap portable amiga.
I Design PCBs for a living.
Imagine minimig crossed with a PSP.

Specs
------
32MB SDRAM
1.6M gate Spartan 3E FPGA
4.3" Touchscreen LCD
Joystick
Joypad
buttons (start, menu, reset)
ARM 7 MPU with support for FAT 16/32 using a fast 8 bit bus between the fpga and arm, USB mass storage for SDCARD.
Dataflash for storing the roms.
PSP/iphone Battery
TV out
Headphone/speakers
Volume control
Li-po Charger
The 68000 CPU will be integrated into the fpga.

It will also be able to run other IP cores as well, like pacman,defender, vic20, atari st etc...

I am quite happy to design the hardware and draw the PCB, but need some help with porting the HDL over, can you help..

Is anyone interested in such a device or is it just another waste of time???
« Last Edit: December 29, 2009, 12:23:13 AM by picman »

Offline skurk

• Show only replies by skurk
Re: Portable Amiga anyone??
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2009, 11:59:31 PM »
Quote from: picman;535297

Hi! :-)

Before we all start barking about this and that.. what is your background?  Hobbyist or professional electronics engineer?

I'm just guessing here, but I suppose this will be based on the existing Minimig design?

I can't say much about the market, though.  Since this is a handheld device, I supposed the target audience are gamers (i.e. not me)...
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1

Offline dreamcast270mhz

• Show only replies by dreamcast270mhz
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2009, 12:43:51 AM »

Specs
------
32MB SDRAM
4.3" Touchscreen LCD
Joystick
Joypad