Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Most powerful PPC that can be put in an A1200?  (Read 9917 times)

Description:

Offline mradam83Topic starter

• Show only replies by mradam83
Most powerful PPC that can be put in an A1200?
« on: December 07, 2012, 03:52:49 PM »
Hi all,

Please excuse any ignorance, I've never really modded an Amiga or PC before so I'm really a newbie but I'm trying to get a feel of everything and get my start of Miggy modding. :-)

I'm in the process of trying to win an A1200 and I'm collecting as much info on what can actually be done as improvements.

One area that really interests me is the installation of processors/accelerators. I read that a PPC Blizzard can be fitted that allows about 330mhz and 256mb of RAM - however it was an older site that I read the info from so I don't know if there's been any improvements since then.

What is the basis for being limited for the one sort of card? Or is it possible for higher mhz processors (PPC) such as a Broadway PPC based IBM card that's used in the Nintendo Wii ? (I'm not specifically saying this piece of tech but it's one I've just read about).

Is it do do with Workbench or the AmigaOS compatibility? Cheers all.

Offline ChaosLord

• Show only replies by ChaosLord
    • http://totalchaoseng.dbv.pl/news.php
Re: Most powerful PPC that can be put in an A1200?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 04:11:00 PM »
No new PPC card has been made for Amiga since a century ago.  The ones that were made are few in number and many of them broke down.

They were quite tremendously expensive.

In any event they never really integrated into a classic Amiga very well.
They only run certain special software.

But its your money.  If you wanna buy one then go ahead :)
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA

Offline ChaosLord

• Show only replies by ChaosLord