Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?  (Read 3963 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline amicomTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Posts: 3
    • Show only replies by amicom
Is it possible to do game development for the Amiga in an emulator?
 
I'm thinking of getting AmigaForever Plus, and I was wondering if there is anything else I would have to get to get into game development, such as development ide and etc. Could someone point me in the right direction?
 
I heard about Amiga OS 4.1 and found out, that it is not possible to run OS 4.1 on UAE or WinUAE. Is there another route I could take to develop for OS 4.1?
 
I don't own a PowerPC, just an Intel PC.
 

Offline nicholas

Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2013, 07:40:42 PM »
http://www.softwareandcircuits.com/division/amiga/products/cubic/index.html

This IDE lets you cross compile for OS4, WarpOS, PowerUP and MorphOS. You can compile 68k code too of course.
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline Heinz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 154
    • Show only replies by Heinz
    • http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de
Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2013, 07:41:35 PM »
Quote from: amicom;740234
Is it possible to do game development for the Amiga in an emulator?
 
I'm thinking of getting AmigaForever Plus, and I was wondering if there is anything else I would have to get to get into game development, such as development ide and etc. Could someone point me in the right direction?
 
I heard about Amiga OS 4.1 and found out, that it is not possible to run OS 4.1 on UAE or WinUAE. Is there another route I could take to develop for OS 4.1?
 
I don't own a PowerPC, just an Intel PC.


If you want to develop your games in C/C++ then AmiDevCpp is an option:

http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/

If you don't have an OS4 Machine, developing for OS4 is very very difficult, because you can't debug your programs. You can better develop your games for OS3.x and try it in WinUAE. Developing and Debugging for AROS is even easier.
 

Offline amicomTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Posts: 3
    • Show only replies by amicom
Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2013, 07:51:00 PM »
Thanks for the link, the IDE looks great.
 
... I'm only now getting all this together. I will look into AROS asap. So for now OS4 is out of the question from what I figured out.
 
Is there planned support for OS4 in UAE or WinUAE? OR is this platform too advanced for emulation?
 

Offline nicholas

Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2013, 07:55:32 PM »
Quote from: amicom;740238
Thanks for the link, the IDE looks great.
 
... I'm only now getting all this together. I will look into AROS asap. So for now OS4 is out of the question from what I figured out.
 
Is there planned support for OS4 in UAE or WinUAE? OR is this platform too advanced for emulation?

If you know C, x86 assembly and PPC assembly like the back of your hand there is nothing stopping you adding the required functionality to UAE. ;)

On the other hand, I can't think of any OS4 software worth having that isn't already available for 68k.
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline bbond007

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 1517
    • Show only replies by bbond007
Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2013, 08:56:50 PM »
Quote from: amicom;740234
Is it possible to do game development for the Amiga in an emulator?
 
I'm thinking of getting AmigaForever Plus, and I was wondering if there is anything else I would have to get to get into game development, such as development ide and etc. Could someone point me in the right direction?
 

http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=58703&howmanycomments=25&page=0

Maybe try this toolchain for UAE
 

Offline rednova

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Posts: 813
    • Show only replies by rednova
    • https://sites.google.com/site/rednova3d/
Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2013, 09:24:15 PM »
Dear Friend:

If you can use amiga forever (on pc for emulation), is enough to run
amospro (I am sure you can get it online)and is very easy to use and learn,
and it works great and you can make great new amiga games !!!
I used amospro on pc emulation (amiga forever) to read code from the
amospro PD cd, and i can easily change the code and test it.
Amospro runs super on amiga forever, and is easy to learn.
Cheers !!!
-mobilis in mobile-
 

Offline nicholas

Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2013, 10:39:27 PM »
As well as AMOS there is AmiBlitz Basic and Pure Basic.

Never used them myself but I've heard nothing but good things from others.

http://www.david-mcminn.co.uk/bernd/ab3/AmiBlitz3full_beta4.lha
http://www.purebasic.com/download/PureBasic.lzx
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline nicholas

Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2013, 10:42:15 PM »
This is a very popular cross platform tool too.

http://www.hollywood-mal.com/
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline ChaosLord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2003
  • Posts: 2608
    • Show only replies by ChaosLord
    • http://totalchaoseng.dbv.pl/news.php
Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2013, 10:49:26 PM »
Quote from: amicom;740234
Is it possible to do game development for the Amiga in an emulator?
 
I'm thinking of getting AmigaForever Plus, and I was wondering if there is anything else I would have to get to get into game development, such as development ide and etc. Could someone point me in the right direction?
 
I heard about Amiga OS 4.1 and found out, that it is not possible to run OS 4.1 on UAE or WinUAE. Is there another route I could take to develop for OS 4.1?
 
I don't own a PowerPC, just an Intel PC.


1. Forget about OS4

2. You never said what language you want to use?

If you like C then I would recommend SASC since it has real working debugger that is guaranteed to work.

Since u r using WinUAE there is no need to do complicated cross-compiling.  You can write real Amiga code at super high speed in WinUAE, compile it at super high speed, run it at super high speed, play with it at super high speed and debug it at super high speed if you use SASC with WinUAE.


If you like BASIC then I recommend either AmiBlitz or PureBasic.  They are both awesome.

For a free superduper text editor we recommend Annotate.
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
 

Offline OlafS3

Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2013, 11:11:20 PM »
there are two additional options in near future

"Amiga Monkey" and Antyriad gx

More informations:
http://www.arkham-development.com/development.htm

and:
http://www.aros-platform.de/html/devtools.html

Both only support AROS and 68k (not AmigaOS and MorphOS but of course other platforms) but that is enough for me :-)
 

Offline NovaCoder

Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2013, 12:50:40 AM »
Quote from: Heinz;740237
If you want to develop your games in C/C++ then AmiDevCpp is an option:

http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/

If you don't have an OS4 Machine, developing for OS4 is very very difficult, because you can't debug your programs. You can better develop your games for OS3.x and try it in WinUAE. Developing and Debugging for AROS is even easier.


Yep I agree, developing software for a machine you can't test it on is almost pointless.   I spent quite a lot of time developing ScummVM in C++ for classic Amiga's without a real machine so I had to use WinUAE for testing.   I'd do what I thought was a really good build for 030 AGA machines but when people tried it on their Miggys it would be as slow as hell and flicker like a b*tch!  In the end I gave up and brought and got a real A1200 again for testing my ports.  

Of course WinUAE is better than nothing (I still use it for prototyping and as my 'virtual' ECS/RTG Amiga) but it's no good when you get to the optimization stage of development (esp important for Classic HW).
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!
 

Offline amicomTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Posts: 3
    • Show only replies by amicom
Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2013, 01:09:33 AM »
Thanks for all the great info. From what I gathered, I think I will be looking into sasc.
 
However, I'm worried about the note that developing in the emulator leaves problems when trying on actual hardware.
 

Offline woof

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2003
  • Posts: 94
    • Show only replies by woof
    • http://uae.is.free.fr
Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2013, 09:21:45 AM »
Have a look to "Louise hardfile" it is a WinUAE hardfile with developpement tools included

http://www.innoidea.hu/subsites/amiga/developer/FILES/HardFiles/gcc111.zip
 

Offline OlafS3

Re: How do I get started in Amiga Game Development on an emulator?
« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2013, 10:26:09 AM »
On WinUAE you can emulate hardware in "real speed" (JIT off and other options)