Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: A4000 toaster rip off?  (Read 2418 times)

Description:

Offline WarPiperTopic starter

• Show only replies by WarPiper
A4000 toaster rip off?
« on: November 12, 2002, 01:44:47 AM »
I had some trouble with my 4000 a couple of weeks ago, I had sent it to a person who lives by me to see if he can fix it, after about two weeks of him looking at it he says that it is the Cyberstorm 060 MKIII board.  he is charging me $75.00 for looking at it and he also wants to sell me a 3640 card that he says does work for another $75.00, he also offerd to make it a straight out trade for my video toaster card,  he also says that he has a WarpEngine 040 that is overclocked to 50 Mhz but he wants $250.

Now here is the thing, I do not have a TBC card for the toaster or a Par card or flyer card, so the only thing that the toaster really is usefull for is for is to act as a lightwave dongle, and I am not a real artist, but after 10 years of salavating over the toaster card, I  got one. Money right now is also a tough thing to come by.

CAN SOME ONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK AND HOW YOU WOULD HANDLE THE SITUATION, ALSO IF THERE IS A PLACE TO GET MY CYBERSTORM FIXED?
There was a time I can remember computers were fun...I miss my A1200.

Offline Damion

Re: A4000 toaster rip off?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2002, 01:55:22 AM »
 I don't know jack about A4k's ( I WISH SO BAD that I did) but I would double check on that 060 and keep your toaster card. An 040 is really a big step down from the 060.

I'm sure the 060 can be fixed, what can really just go wrong?

Yeah, definately get a second op on that 060!

I bet that Toaster board will be worth some serious $$$ someday.

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2002, 02:09:48 AM »
thanks, the problem is getting a real tech to look at the cyberstorm 060 and to test the processor chip itself, I really dont think that the board can just burn out for no reason, so it may be the chip.