Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: The Duel Test Drive II: effect of Agnus and/or KS version on side view car animation  (Read 631 times)

Description:

Offline arkpandoraTopic starter

• Show only replies by arkpandora
Hello!  It is seven years since I last used an Amiga, and I am back to discussing the subject.

I remember that the animation of the two cars in the introduction of  Accolade's game "The Duel: Test Drive II" is perfect on an OCS Agnus and  KS 1.2 Amiga, but also I remember that it jumps at least at one point  on any ECS Agnus and KS 1.3 or newer Amiga, even with WHDLoad.  Is one  of you able to tell me whether it is the OCS Agnus or the 1.2 Kickstart  (or both) that is necessary in order that The Duel's side view cars will  scroll smoothly?

As I am not good with my hands and my remaining Amiga computers have  never been maintained, I am considering buying an Amiga 500 with new  capacitors and an HxC floppy drive emulator installed for me, but I need  to define its specifications, hence this question.

Thanks for any idea!

Jean

Offline wrath of khan

• Show only replies by wrath of khan
Quote from: arkpandora;777093
Hello!  It is seven years since I last used an Amiga, and I am back to discussing the subject.

I remember that the animation of the two cars in the introduction of  Accolade's game "The Duel: Test Drive II" is perfect on an OCS Agnus and  KS 1.2 Amiga, but also I remember that it jumps at least at one point  on any ECS Agnus and KS 1.3 or newer Amiga, even with WHDLoad.  Is one  of you able to tell me whether it is the OCS Agnus or the 1.2 Kickstart  (or both) that is necessary in order that The Duel's side view cars will  scroll smoothly?

As I am not good with my hands and my remaining Amiga computers have  never been maintained, I am considering buying an Amiga 500 with new  capacitors and an HxC floppy drive emulator installed for me, but I need  to define its specifications, hence this question.