Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: AROS, Qemu, and booting on actual hardware after an ISO mod.  (Read 1253 times)

Description:

Offline XDelusionTopic starter

• Alien Breeder
    • Show only replies by XDelusion
    • http://starwarslegacy.net/
AROS, Qemu, and booting on actual hardware after an ISO mod.
« on: November 09, 2007, 07:08:24 AM »
 Sorry to be flooding your forums here, it's just that I'm in a VERY Amiga (and Atari 8-bit) experimentational mood as of late. Not that I'm new to either, certainly not, it's just that I've not been able to keep up with them as much lately in life and it's nice to get back to where you came from every now and then, even if it is just komputers.
 Anyhow...

I set up AROS in Qemu, got a HD image off the net, installed to it, and all was well, until...

... I tried to copy over files to my new AROS virtual drive from within AROS. AROS did not like this much at all. Infact it took a few files, but afterwards I tried to copy over the file:

UDOOM.WAD 12,117Kb

...and Dopus acted like the file was 12Gb rather cause it just went on forever until finally I rebooted Qemu.

Upon reboot I tried to copy over my DOOM iWAD again, but this time the copy screen appeard and vanished real quick like nothing happened. Low and behold I looked on the AROS drive and infact nothing HAD happend. JOY! ;)

So I tried to copy Quake's ID1 directory, same thing, a copy progress window opened, then closed, as if the drive had write permissions turned off all of a sudden or something.

---

So I decide I am going to Modify the AROS ISO with PowerISO. I copy over some DOOM and Quake, then some goods to get E-UAE all up and running with plenty of toys just to see how good the AROS port is.

I copy over my stuff, my INFO files for all the folders, organize it all nice like and test it on Qemu to make sure it would boot, and it did.