Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Floppy emulator  (Read 30079 times)

Description:

Offline tnt23Topic starter

• Show only replies by tnt23
Floppy emulator
« on: December 07, 2005, 10:15:38 AM »
Hi,

My name is Tim. I'm a newbie in Amigas (got my first A500 only this summer).

I was so excited to see recent Minimig story that I decided to post my own project details. Although not as mindblowing as Minimig (Dennis, your work is by far the most impressive DIY Amiga story I've heard!), it is probably still fancy enough to mention.

The project's aim was to build a device that would eliminate the floppy nightmare I would've had should I decide to try and see all 600 megs of ADF on my old A500. The device would keep ADF images on some flash media, let me choose and load certain image, mount it and pretend it is real floppy drive.

I've used 8-bit RISC Atmel MCU running at 8MHz, an old 4M 30-pin SIMM for DRAM storage, LCD salvaged from an old Nokia mobile, and a couple of buttons to keep interface minimalistic.

So far the project lets me browse the SD/MMC card (cheating a lot - FAT16 only, no LFNs, no subfolders), load .ADF image, convert it to MFM tracks and run it as if it were a real DF1: drive attached to my Amiga.

While loading floppy image takes decent amount of time, about 30 seconds, converting it to MFM takes good three minutes. There are of course ways to reduce conversion time, like using more powerful MCU or preencoding floppy images, still to be investigated.

I have uploaded a few images should anybody want a look :-)

EDIT: images are available here: http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?u=3561

Regards
Tim

Offline humppa

• Show only replies by humppa
Re: Floppy emulator
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2005, 10:24:19 AM »
Really interesting! You should get in touch with Mr. Catweazel (Jens).

Offline motorollin

• Show only replies by motorollin
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2005, 10:24:49 AM »