Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: In search of the world's best joystick  (Read 1881 times)

Description:

Offline HarlbroTopic starter

• Show only replies by Harlbro
In search of the world's best joystick
« on: April 28, 2005, 02:32:02 AM »
I've been playing games on the Amiga for many years. Like many of you I've seen literally dozens of joysticks meet their death through nothing but overuse (the utterly useless Quickshots immediately spring to mind). The only tried and true joysticks I've come across is the old Australian-made Star Cursor. Only thing is they haven't manufactured these since the early 90s. The ones that pop up on Ebay have been thrashed - see example:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=1247&item=5189118182&rd=1
(you can tell it has had heavy use as there is a broken off part at the base of the stick itself, yet this broken one will still go for A$30+).

The trouble with the Star Cursors is there are many moving parts. A fully working Star Cursor is a joy to behold however their weakness is their many moving parts and the cord attchment to the joystick (you end up having to wriggle the cord before it works properly).

I recently bought some brand new UK-made Competition Pro 5000 Series Mini joysticks thinking they would be suitable replacements. Sadly, the sensitivity is severly lacking. No micro-switches? What the??? To make the buttons work, you really need to REALLY HAMMER them. That makes playing ANY shootem up a real chore. Any suggestions??? What do you think THE über joystick is??

Offline coldfish

• Show only replies by coldfish
Re: In search of the world's best joystick
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2005, 02:59:42 AM »
Heh, yeah, Ive had a few (5 or so) of those Star-cursors!