Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amiga 3000D owners, do you want a better power supply?  (Read 7622 times)

Description:

Amiga 3000D owners, do you want a better power supply?
« on: April 19, 2007, 10:48:18 AM »
Hi there fellow Amiga 3000D users,

I am an electrical engineering student and I recently had a serious problem (read catastrophy) with the power supply of my Amiga 3000 desktop.

The original power supply in the 3000D is only rated for 135W and that leaves little safety room for big expansions such as powerful 68040/68060/PPC accelerators.

I recently found an ATX power supply which has physical dimensions very similar to the original A3000D power supply but it is rated for 200watts. see: http://www.sparklepower.com/pdf/FSP200-60SAV.pdf

I intend to adapt this power supply to replace the power supply in the 3000D. Of course, it would be much more worthwhile if other people were interested in having their PS modified (read internally completely replaced) in the same manner.

If you would like to know more then by all means please ask your questions. The first one, of course is pricing... well that depends how many people are interested. These PS would certainly be cheaper if I buy 10 or more at a time.

I will answer all technical details I can.

Added edit:
The real dimensions of the 3000D power supply is 110x63x175mm (WxHxL).
The dimensions of the substitute power supply is
86x65.5x174.9mm (WxHxL).

Same length, very slightly taller, 1 inch narrower.

Offline Xanxi

• Show only replies by Xanxi
Re: Amiga 3000D owners, do you want a better power supply?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2007, 11:06:47 AM »
Interesting.
Could you do the same job for the A2000?
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2007, 11:10:41 AM »

Xanxi wrote:
Interesting.
Could you do the same job for the A2000?