Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Does Linux have an Amiga feel?  (Read 16181 times)

Description:

Offline ElPolloDiablTopic starter

• Show only replies by ElPolloDiabl
Does Linux have an Amiga feel?
« on: June 29, 2013, 05:48:23 AM »
Is Linux a substitute for Amiga OS? Due to the fact that AROS might be awhile before it (a) runs heaps of programs. (b) Is compatible with everyones hardware.
I've only used Linux on x86 so I can't give an opnion on the 68k or PPC version.
Go Go Gadget Signature!

Offline smerf

• Show only replies by smerf
Re: Does Linux have an Amiga feel?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2013, 06:40:26 AM »
Hi,

Although Linux and Amiga OS are designed basically off the same family, Unix. Linux was designed by a bunch of geeks that speak an entirely new, difficult language, with long numbered version numbers that actually make no sense. I have been using Linux for close to 20 years now, and some of the stuff that they do, I ask why, there actually seems to be no pattern to Linux, but when you get deep down into it, there is. It is just learning the hundreds of patterns to figure out what they are doing. The only operating system that is worse is Windows. Not only don't you know what is supposed to be in the windows os, but where they put the stuff. I doubt that even Microsoft knows what files go where in their system, that is why I believe they have so much trouble with hackers and virus's.

Can Linux be a substitute for the Amiga OS, I would say yes, if we could reprogram the hundred step file and hide process.

Would it be worth it?

Not really, because the Amiga users today have no direction, and a lot of them would still be wanting PPC orientated cpu's.

I myself think that AMD's eight core CPU's are the greatest, and if used correctly would become one bang up multi tasking machine.

Intels eight core CPU's are faster, but the money is huge, not really fit for the average home user.

I just want an answer to this question: