Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: amiga 500 and games.  (Read 3183 times)

Description:

amiga 500 and games.
« on: November 05, 2002, 02:49:44 PM »
hi all.
I have never used an Amiga before but own an Amiga 500 console (long story). I want to give it to a 5 year old kid.
I also got with the console about 20 floppies. some of them are games and most of them dont work.

My question. Where can I download games and how shall I load them to these diskettes.

I currently use Unix/Linux so  a program to transfer files in Amiga compatible format from that platform will be great help.

Also please suggest me some games for 5-6 years old.

thanks.

Offline kd7ota

• Show only replies by kd7ota
    • http://www.qrz.com
Re: amiga 500 and games.
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2002, 03:22:22 PM »
Maybe an Amiga 500 might be a bit too complex for a 5-year-old at start. It would be great if you had a Commodore 64 for start. Then give him the Amiga 500 when he turns 8 years old.  :-D Best thing to write disks is getting them from http://www.back2roots.org   .  You will need an Amiga to write the disks back orginally.  You might be able to talk to someone who can probably sell you original copies of games if they got any if you cant write the ADFs.
-=-=-=-=-=-
Mine!  :-D

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2002, 03:34:41 PM »
The kids these days are already used to complex devices.  The friend's son I mentioned already enjoys SSX  and other Rally games on my PS2.

Thanks for the tip about the ADF files.
Can I write them a floppy using Unix "dd"  command?
thank you

Offline Ilwrath

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2002, 03:45:59 PM »
The kids these days are already used to complex devices. The friend's son I mentioned already enjoys SSX and other Rally games on my PS2.

Very true, though the Amiga is a very complex machine...  In some ways, probably more so than a Linux box...

Thanks for the tip about the ADF files.
Can I write them a floppy using Unix "dd" command?