Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Strange Startup Screen  (Read 463 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Strange Startup Screen
« on: July 02, 2022, 09:30:21 PM »
Hi All, Does anyone know about this screen that comes up every time I do a cold
boot in OS 3.2? I know what it means, I lived in Switzerland for 10 years. But I don't
know why it shows up. Nothing in the startup script points to it, and I can find no reason
for it. Any help would be appreciated. No idea why it loads sideways.
Thanks,
Brad Hansen
« Last Edit: July 02, 2022, 09:33:22 PM by bradhansen1 »
 

Offline AndyFC

Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2022, 08:36:14 AM »
'Disk "DATA" removed to early.
Abort.    Retrieve'

Is the literal translation according to Google.

Have you also checked through user-startup and any other scripts?

Do you have a volume called Data?
A1200 in DIY Tower. 3.2 ROMs, 3.5" HD, CD RW and IDE to SD adapter running off the internal IDE port (using the A4000 4-port IDE adapter from Amigakit), Blizzard 1230-IV, with 32MB 60ns RAM and 50MHz 68882 FPU. 3COM PCMCIA Network card running with Miami DX. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PrGdL6XjmE

MorphOS on PowerMac G5 and ATI 9600 pro
 

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2022, 05:17:42 PM »
Really, Did you bother to even read my text! In there I state that I lived in Switzerland for 10 years and I understand
what it says! I also stated that I have combed through my Startup-Sequence and could not find any reference!
In the future if you plan to comment on something, please take the time to read what your commenting on. That way
you won't come off as a complete idiot!
 

Offline AndyFC

Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2022, 07:26:06 PM »
I'm sorry, but the fact I had to Google the translation to see if I could understand it and see if I could help meant I thought it also might be helpful to others and save them time doing the same thing.

I did read your message and understood your situation. So you know what it means but many other people on the forum wouldn't and that ups the risk of someone, who knows what the problem is, not replying.

I've reported your reply for the unwarranted insult.
A1200 in DIY Tower. 3.2 ROMs, 3.5" HD, CD RW and IDE to SD adapter running off the internal IDE port (using the A4000 4-port IDE adapter from Amigakit), Blizzard 1230-IV, with 32MB 60ns RAM and 50MHz 68882 FPU. 3COM PCMCIA Network card running with Miami DX. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PrGdL6XjmE

MorphOS on PowerMac G5 and ATI 9600 pro
 

Offline AndyFC

Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2022, 08:36:10 PM »
Deleted post. I don't want to risk an argument.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2022, 09:01:13 PM by AndyFC »
A1200 in DIY Tower. 3.2 ROMs, 3.5" HD, CD RW and IDE to SD adapter running off the internal IDE port (using the A4000 4-port IDE adapter from Amigakit), Blizzard 1230-IV, with 32MB 60ns RAM and 50MHz 68882 FPU. 3COM PCMCIA Network card running with Miami DX. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PrGdL6XjmE

MorphOS on PowerMac G5 and ATI 9600 pro
 

Offline Thomas

Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2022, 09:01:42 PM »

I've never seen such an error, but I have an idea where it might come from.

German disk related errors in an otherwise English environment may come from Fat95. I think it defaults to German if you don't install another language. The volume name in all upper case might also indicate a FAT disk rather than an AmigaDOS disk.

If I continue this thought, you might have CF0 in Devs/DosDrivers and CardReset in S/User-Startup. Then during boot CF0 might be in the middle of reading the CF card when CardReset ejects the card.


Offline TribbleSmasher

Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2022, 09:10:54 PM »
But @bradhansen1 insists he knows his way around so this is not an option.

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2022, 10:53:38 PM »
AndyFC, I can appreciate your point of view, But you didn't say any of that in your reply. Anyone reading
that reply could only see what I saw, sorry.
 

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Re: Strange Startup Screen
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2022, 10:55:51 PM »
Thomas, I think your are probably onto something there. I feel I have to think about it
and try and figure away around it. Like maybe an IF And call. What I was thinking.
Thanks for the input.
Brad Hansen
« Last Edit: July 04, 2022, 10:57:08 PM by bradhansen1 »