Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Web Browser issue  (Read 709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Web Browser issue
« on: May 26, 2022, 10:13:42 PM »
Hi All, Just got the right PCMCIA card for my A1200 to connect to the net. Using EasyNet_Pro for TCP stack.  When I open AmiFTP
it works like a Champ, at least on Aminet, connects fast and downloads super fast.  But I can't seem to get anything going with
Ibrowse 2.4 ro AWeb 3.5. Once in a while it will make a net connection, but only once, after that nothing. One thing that could be
a problem is that I have a T-Mobile 5G tower as my router. But I could sure use some advice on what may be blocking my Web Browsers.
I have at least 7 other devices connected with no problem, ever a PowerBook 1400C that also connects through Ethernet.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Brad Hansen
 

Offline Jerseywurzel

Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2022, 10:17:20 AM »
What version of AmiSSL are you using?

The latest verfsion is 5.1 and uses more up to date Internet protocols.
Also, IBrowse is up to version 2.5.

I'm using it to answer here :)
 

Offline kolla

Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2022, 02:41:05 PM »
I would check MTU values, and if they are 1500, try to lower them to 1492, or even lower.
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
---
A3000/060CSPPC+CVPPC/128MB + 256MB BigRAM/Deneb USB
A4000/CS060/Mediator4000Di/Voodoo5/128MB
A1200/Blz1260/IndyAGA/192MB
A1200/Blz1260/64MB
A1200/Blz1230III/32MB
A1200/ACA1221
A600/V600v2/Subway USB
A600/Apollo630/32MB
A600/A6095
CD32/SX32/32MB/Plipbox
CD32/TF328
A500/V500v2
A500/MTec520
CDTV
MiSTer, MiST, FleaFPGAs and original Minimig
Peg1, SAM440 and Mac minis with MorphOS
 

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2022, 08:10:53 PM »
Hi, I installed AmiISS 4.11, at the time I had no ssl at all installed. Got no change, still can't connect through a WEB Browser. I did install
WookieChat and was able to connect without issue to a German server... I tried to look for an MTU setting in my setup but could not find
where that is.  Still the same issue...
Brad Hansen
 

Offline kolla

Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2022, 09:07:32 PM »
MTU settings is typically a sana2 configuration for the particular device you are using, so it might help to know what pcmcia card driver you are using.
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
---
A3000/060CSPPC+CVPPC/128MB + 256MB BigRAM/Deneb USB
A4000/CS060/Mediator4000Di/Voodoo5/128MB
A1200/Blz1260/IndyAGA/192MB
A1200/Blz1260/64MB
A1200/Blz1230III/32MB
A1200/ACA1221
A600/V600v2/Subway USB
A600/Apollo630/32MB
A600/A6095
CD32/SX32/32MB/Plipbox
CD32/TF328
A500/V500v2
A500/MTec520
CDTV
MiSTer, MiST, FleaFPGAs and original Minimig
Peg1, SAM440 and Mac minis with MorphOS
 

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2022, 09:27:08 PM »
Hi, I am using the "CNET.device"
 

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2022, 03:12:07 AM »
Hi All, Seems my issue is the Browsers can not resolve DNS names. I open iBrowse and type in the IP address to say, Aminet, I get
connected to the site, everything comes up and I can search and download. Found the IP address to Amiga.org and connected to
that site.  So what am I not setting correctly that is not allowing me to connect to the DNS server.  I have my Gateway address as my first
one (as I always do) and Googles as my second one in the EasyNet_Pro setup. Where else does it need to be.
Any Help will be much appreciated.
Brad Hansen
 

Offline AndyFC

Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2022, 03:57:21 PM »
I had to set DNS servers in my router on an older unit. There was a specific section in the interface for it.

A also have problems with another tplink hub. My A1200 won't resolve IP addresses via it, but all other devices do. I don't need to use it now so I never spent time properly diagnosing it.
A1200 in DIY Tower. 3.2 ROMs, 3.5" HD, CD RW and IDE to SD adapter running off the internal IDE port (using the A4000 4-port IDE adapter from Amigakit), Blizzard 1230-IV, with 32MB 60ns RAM and 50MHz 68882 FPU. 3COM PCMCIA Network card running with Miami DX. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PrGdL6XjmE

MorphOS on PowerMac G5 and ATI 9600 pro
 

Offline bradhansen1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 9
  • Gender: Male
Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2022, 12:39:42 AM »
Well, I'm not sure what I did but everything is working well now. My T-Mobile 5G tower has it's own ID and password
and I was using the ID for my domain name. Went back to just plain T-Mobile.com and I think, though not sure
that was the fix... Thanks for all the great suggestions!
Brad Hansen

Offline Jerseywurzel

Re: Web Browser issue
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2022, 05:50:32 PM »
You will still see an improvement if you download AmiSSL5 from Aminet. It has more up to date internet protocols and allows IBrowse to connect to more sites.

Also. IBrowse is now at version 2.5.6 and is worth downloading.